The Wall That Heals (photo by author)

PHOTOGRAPHY | SANDI’S REFLECT PROMPT

The Wall That Heals

April Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Reflect”

Six Word Photo Story Challenge
2 min readApr 4, 2024

--

So many names. So many sacrifices.

What a sobering moment.

I was on assignment for the newspaper. I’d learned The Wall That Heals was making its way to the community I covered.

On a bright, sunny September day, I drove to a park on a hill to view the Wall, take photos, and ask attendees questions. Unfortunately, I no longer have the story I wrote, but I remember the quietness during the visit.

People searched the Wall for those names they knew. They reached out to touch a name on the Wall, a way for them to be closer to their friend or family member. Some laid flowers and cards at the base of the Wall.

It felt intrusive snapping photos during these moments, but it was my job to capture the event, to record history.

The reflections on the black avonite wall left an impression on me. To me, they signified a connection between the living and those lost. The reflection of those standing in front of the Wall became a part of it, their visiting image encompassing the name of their loved one, like a hug.

--

--

Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Child of the 70s. Lover of nostalgia. Former newspaper editor. I write memoir and personal essays.