Author wearing exercise attire, leaning against a wall, facing the camera
Photo of author in exercise attire, taken by her spouse with an old iPhone 6

This is the Kind of Mistake that Brightens Your Day

Summer Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Shine”

Shereen Bingham
2 min readAug 3, 2022

--

They carded me at age sixty.

It was my 60th birthday, and I stopped by Trader Joe’s to pick up a few groceries and a bottle of wine on my way home from the gym.

To my surprise, the cashier at the checkout counter asked for my driver’s license. I laughed. It had to be a joke, right?

But no! The cashier was not smiling. He seemed embarrassed and even apologized after he saw the date on my license. No apology was needed, of course. I thanked him and beamed all the way home.

At home, I asked my husband to take my picture so I could objectively assess whether I actually looked under 21. He humored me. Let’s just say it’s a good thing the photo came out blurry. :)

The next day, I returned to the store to give the cashier a “thank you” flower, but he wasn’t there. No doubt he was at his eye doctor buying a new pair of glasses!

I’m comfortable with getting older, and even revel in some of what is coming with my sixties. But a genuine compliment now and then makes me shine, even when it’s by mistake.

Whether it’s about appearance, talents, accomplishments, knowledge, or other personal qualities, a compliment feels good if it’s real. Isn’t that true for just about everyone?

Thank you, Mary Chang Story Writer, for your creative publication and inspiring summer challenge.

--

--

Shereen Bingham
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Communication Ph.D., venturing out from success as a scholarly writer to explore terrains of creative nonfiction, poetry, and fictional short stories.