Photo by author

Trapped and Yet Free

April Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Reflect”

Six Word Photo Story Challenge
1 min readApr 30, 2024

--

Reflecting on life across the interface

Early morning, pre-breakfast swims are my favorite, especially when they’re in crystal clear water in Sicily. I donned my snorkel gear and slipped into the water, eager to explore the submerged basalt columns just offshore of the town of Aci Trezza. I swam carefully in the shallows, mindful of the sharp volcanic rocks, and then explored deeper waters.

I reached the first of the faraglioni, or sea stacks, about 20 minutes later. My attention was focused on the fish and other critters that were hiding in the cracks and crevices in the basalt columns so I didn’t notice the jellyfish floating at the surface. I recoiled instinctively, and then approached carefully to snap a few pictures.

Observing the pulsing gelatinous medusa, I reflected on the life of a jellyfish. These beautiful creatures are trapped in the sea and yet free to drift across entire oceans. They probably don’t see it this way, or any other way, since they don’t have brains.

My grumbling stomach disturbed my contemplative reverie and I swam back to shore and the cannoli waiting for me at the breakfast buffet.

--

--

Dan Carlson
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Parent, scientist (oceanography and remote sensing), and drone pilot