Photo by Genka Shapkarova

PHOTOGRAPHY

When Natural Carrots in Our Garden Have a Strange Shape

Genka Shapkarova
Six Word Photo Story Challenge
2 min readJul 13, 2024

--

These dancers are on a roll.

There was a time when I disapproved of the sometimes strange shape of carrots in our garden. I found it difficult and time-consuming to cut through the curves of their odd shape. Today, I am glad that we have the opportunity to eat healthy products picked from our yard. I’m thankful that we have time to spend near my parents and have the chance to pick raspberries right off the bush or eat peaches fresh off the tree.

These orange dancers were quite interesting and perfect for one of the meals I like to prepare. I asked my mother to get me a carrot from the garden, and she brought me this one. I smiled when I saw them and told myself that this uniqueness should be photographed.

Alas, I started cutting my vegetables and inadvertently cut off the slightly protruding tips of these dancers’ feet before I photographed them. But I quickly got the hang of it, and before I cut them into cubes, I took a picture, which clearly shows what I mean by the wonderful shape of this carrot.

Carrots entwined into one like a dancing couple in the whirlwind of their dance.

I loved them.

The stew turned out very tasty:)

Thank you Sandi Parsons for the Six Word Photo Story Challenge prompt: “Cute Creatures”.

--

--