Photo of a toy gnome.
Sammy’s not a fan of New England. Photo by author

PHOTOGRAPHY

When You Need Some Simple Silliness, Be Silly

Bruce Coulter
Six Word Photo Story Challenge
2 min readJul 22, 2024

--

Would someone point me to Lancaster?

I took this tiny fellow home after paying good money for him in Amish Country last year.

He ain’t happy.

Sammy refuses to pull his hat up to see where he is. I can’t get him to trim that scraggly beard or change his clothes. To say he stinks, well, that’s putting it mildly.

Still, he’s a cute little dude who doesn’t cuss, even when he’s mad at me.

So, I had to make a promise. Next year, I’m visiting Lancaster again, and I’ll bring Sammy to visit. I think he grinned a bit, but it’s hard to tell with that damn beard. But he has to take a bath before we leave.

I wonder if I can get him to go to the barber with me?

Thanks for reading.

While you’re here, check out some photos and stories by fantastic writers and photographers.

Kim Zuch

--

--

Bruce Coulter
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

I'm a retired, disabled veteran with MH issues. Tomorrow will be a better day. Join me and others on Medium. https://medium.com/@brucecoulter_75270/membership