Fishing boat at Molo Longo pier. Rijeka, Croatia. Image by author

Worried About Something?

July Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Cute Creatures”

1 min readJul 10, 2024

--

A storm is about to come

I can’t help myself. I enjoy recognizing human-like expressions in things and imagining their character.

When I was little, there was a book I couldn’t stop exploring: cute little rabbits used brushes to paint the whole world. Their sky was full of colours, the shiny pathways led all around, surrounded by multicoloured flowers, and everything was so wonderful.

This was the world I wanted to live in.

So, when I see a big lorry with funny headlights that look like eyes, a cloud that has the shape of an animal, or a boat that carries a worried expression, I giggle. To me, they look like portals to a cartoonesque world, and a way out from this one, so harsh and demanding.

And when the storm comes, I brace myself. I don’t let it bring me down.

Then I look around again and have a chuckle or two.

Sandi Parsons, thank you for this cute prompt!

--

--

Thinking, overthinking, writing, painting, exploring languages. Teaching. Some of it probably at the same time.