A Long Drive

Swarnim Dubey
The Six Pm Show
Published in
3 min readJul 1, 2021

A story is a pond of emotions; you can never judge its depth until you dive into it. Stories are written, read, or narrated, but some are beyond the fancy words and phrases engraved on the heart.

A long drive amid this pandemic chaos is super relaxing and we were all set for one. The day had a different charm and the lovely weather added an extra crisp to it. The air was ripe with the pleasant, dewy petrichor of the post-rain afternoon. Besides this, the sun yelling hello occasionally made us more energetic.

Highway, music and a little rainfall…. What bliss! As usual, I was driving the car, my brother sat beside me and mom dad in the back seat. After a round of our favorite songs, dad grooved in with his playlist of retro classics. Things were going smoothly.

Songs after songs and miles after miles… a happy vibe all around, but no story is complete without a twist!

All of a sudden I peeped through the rearview mirror and what do I see! A lovely couple lost into each other’s eyes with a sweet smile on their faces. Lately, I was able to realize that the song took them into some other world. I was sure that they have a story to tell. Of course, both of us (me and my brother) were in no mood to disturb them, but at the same time, we were so curious to know WHAT IS THE STORY??

I don’t think I would ask them what’s going on and they would tell, so I decided to play a trick!

I kept on playing the song on loop… once, twice, thrice so on! They were still lost in some world we can faintly imagine.

Fed up with this old school drama my brother changed the song. The moment he changed the song there was a blast! Everything was so weird for a second. The transition from Kishore Kumar to Badshah triggered my mom. She almost jumped on my brother demanding to play the song. He too in a very evil tone said: “Do you really think this song is worth enough to listen for so long?”

“What do you mean by so long? My favorite part was about to come!”, she exclaimed.

“Oh! For the past 15 minutes or so the same song was being played and I have all rights to change the song.” said my brother mockingly.

“What 15 min…”

“Yes! 15 minutes!” he shouted stopping her in between.

AWKWARD SILENCE!

Mom and dad with their blushing faces tried to pretend nothing happened. Mom started looking out of the window and dad started scrolling through some messages.

In a very low and voice filled with curiosity and fear I somehow managed to throw a direct question, “Now tell us what the story is? Where were you lost? ”

Again a moment of awkward silence. This time it ended with a peal of maniacal laughter.

I knew I won’t get the answer to it so I moved on and played some other song enjoying the drive but both of them had it in their hearts. This is what I call “true love”.

Still, sometimes I or my brother play the same song to tease them to see their blushing faces, and then all of us laugh aloud.

BY— Swarnim Dubey

--

--