RUMOUR: The Word On The Street

Ish Kwatra
The Six Pm Show
Published in
2 min readMay 10, 2021

Many a times it’s difficult to chew,

I try to take it lightly or begin something new.

The cold rumours and the dew,

The people who trust you, are only a few.

I hope someone so pure passes by,

Who believes me, that these rumours are a lie.

But no matter how much you try,

All you get to see is only a sigh.

Only a few have seen me cry,

Most of them became a sly.

But may I ask you the reason why,

I’ll keep on waiting for your reply.

I may cry but I won’t let you know that,

Why do you think the rumours sounded fact?

I’ll keep that day in my memory intact,

Just to show you the pity of that act.

One day, everyone will get through,

You don’t have any option. Do you?

You can’t keep it fixed with glue,

Every rumour isn’t true.

It’s sometimes quite interesting though,

To listen to the facts, you yourself didn’t know.

They won’t listen despite a no,

You will surely get, what you owe.

Don’t worry I won’t be hostile,

Despite your act of subtle revile.

I’ll make your wait worthwhile,

I’ll just be giving you an optimistic smile.

By - Ish Kwatra

--

--