Surreal #8

bernie
skatezines
Published in
2 min readJan 5, 2021

Surreal was the brainchild of Californian Dave Carne, and it’s worthy as a post to follow PowerHouse.

Like that zine, Dave gets into the full spead layout where many zine makers feared to tread. In this issue there are photos of Jason Jesse at Fallbrook, Chris Miller and Greg Aguilar at Raging Waters, an account of a dissection of a mink for phisiology class, call-outs of fave music that were faves of toner jockeys of the era (Pixies, Bg Black, Scratch Acid, Devo) and more. Good shit.

I’m guessing this came out in early 1988. At the time, I was a senior in high school. I lived pretty close to school, so I would drive home for lunch, and by that time the mailman would usually have dropped goodies into the mailbox. I’d slam down a pbj or ramen and flip through the pages of the daily delivery. Honestly, I’m surprised I’m not seeing more food stains on these zines. Thank goodness.

Dave also put together a nice ‘lil one page art-zine called Surreal Stuff, which will get scanned sometime/soontime.

Download a PDF of the full issue here.

--

--

bernie
skatezines

Stella's dad, Amazon Digital Music Product Manager, Nebraskan