Tiki (Sun Issue)

bernie
skatezines
Published in
2 min readFeb 28, 2021

For a while, I made a zine called Tiki.

This issue of Tiki chronicles a short but productive detour I took in 1988/89 to Los Angeles, working on Home Boy and Freestylin’ magazines taking pictures and running the darkroom. The opportunity that came as a result of making and sharing zines, and meeting the people who made them. Hours after graduating high school in 1988, Kevin, Mike and I drove to the west coast where Andy and I hatched a plan to carve out a job for me there. I told my parents that I wouldn’t be enrolling for college classes that Fall. After a few months of patiently waiting for the green light, I landed in LA and made an eat-in kitchen in a Torrance condo my home. Skateboarding and photography every day.

After a few months adventures and huffing a fair amount of Kodak’s Dektol, D-76 and Fixer, Home Boy magazine was shuttered and I no longer had a job. I decided to head back to Nebraska to go to school and make music, and I made this zine as a way to process it all. My 18 year-old head was still spinning, but I had a camera, a darkroom, the copy shop and friends near and far.

Download a full scan of this issue here.

--

--

bernie
skatezines

Stella's dad, Amazon Digital Music Product Manager, Nebraskan