#Skateistan10: Of the past: Andreas Schützenberger, IOU Ramps (Construction Partner)

Skateistan
Skateistan 10
Published in
6 min readMay 2, 2018

As Skateistan celebrates 10 years, founder Oliver Percovich caught up with some of the most influential individuals that helped Skateistan to grow from its early beginnings in Kabul, into an award-winning international organization. One of Skateistan’s first partners was IOU Ramps, who have built 7500 skateboarding ramps in more than 30 countries worldwide. Shortly after Skateistan was founded, IOU Ramps founder Andreas, joined Oliver on an early scoping have trip to Kabul. Inspired by what he saw, IOU Ramps returned to Afghanistan to build the ramps for the first Skate School in Kabul, and then for the Skate School in Mazar. In this interview, Andreas shares his Skateistan story with Oliver Percovich.

Oliver Percovich: How did you find out about Skateistan?

Andreas Schützenberger: I received an email from Chris Eggers asking me if I was interested in helping Skateistan to build ramps. I was confused at the beginning, thinking, “What a skatepark in Afghanistan, this a little weird”. But the more I thought about it, the more I wanted to be involved.

OP: We first met in Passau, what do you remember about that meeting?

AS: An amazing snowmobile adventure in Austria and a great night when we worked out the whole plan for the facility — we had the first design done after a few hours! It was so important that you came down to Passau to talk about the project, that really was the starting point.

OP: A really strong connection was made that trip and you then came to Kabul in 2009 to do a small scoping trip and look at the possibility of building a skatepark there. What motivated you to come back to Kabul to build that skatepark?

AS: The motivation was, of course, the whole project. After the first meeting we had, I was in, it was clear for me to support the project in whatever way I could. I never thought we were going to build a small mini ramp on the first trip, but we found everything straight away on the first day. That was pretty amazing.

OP: It definitely was fun going to those wood markets and bargaining with the wood sellers in Kabul.

AS: Doing the research was definitely a lot of fun. I was really astonished that we organized everything straight away. It was a great start and after three days we had a mini ramp finished. Nobody thought that would happen, including me! It was very important to do that first trip to understand the situation there, what kind of materials were available and what we would need to organize in Germany.

OP: Absolutely. Do you have a personal memory or story that stands out from the last 10 years of Skateistan?

AS: There’s a lot of stories and a lot of highlights. One story I always tell would be installing the rocket, that was kinda crazy. On the one hand it was stupid of me to ask for that, but on the other side it was really funny. I remember asking for a rocket, and they replied, “A rocket? A rocket is a problem, but I tank I can get you tomorrow”. I had to explain that we didn’t need a tank but a rocket. Somehow I forgot about it and the next morning he came up with his moped shouting, “Shutsi, Shutsi come on”. I couldn’t believe it. I meant it more as a joke, but then he actually brought that rocket! We installed it the same day and the rocket ramp was born — that was definitely a highlight.

Andreas and team constructing the ramps at the Skate School in Mazar in 2013.

OP: Did your involvement in Skateistan influence your perspective in any way? Did it make you look at Afghanistan in a different way or influence your work?

AS: It really changed my idea of Afghanistan. I had no clue about that country and everything I read in the media showed the opposite to what I saw. When you work there on a daily basis, you find that every person is seeking a good way of life. It really grounded me again and made me realise how well we live here in Germany, and what it means to have freedom and peace. Yes, Skateistan really changed a lot of things. It shows what skateboarding can actually do and how many boundaries you can break with it. No regular person thinks to go to a country where there is war. This is a little island of peace and of hope — of thinking about something differently.

OP: It’s great to hear that Skateistan has had such a positive effect on you personally.

AS: It really has. I’m so glad this project is so successful and I’m very thankful to be involved until today. I feel honoured to be a part of it. I talk to a lot with people about the project and what they can do with the skills they have. I am good at carpentry and building ramps and that was my part. Everybody can push something to make the world just a little bit better. It sounds like a silly phrase, but it is true.

OP: It’s true, everybody can play a part. And thanks to all the support, in the first 10 years Skateistan achieved way more than I ever expected.

AS: I agree. When I was in Kabul I thought to myself, if this place is here in a year’s time and 30 kids are involved and have the chance of a better future, then it’s a success. And now we are 10 years on with thousands of kids involved. This is far beyond what I ever imagined.

OP: Thinking about the future, what would you like to see Skateistan achieve in the next 10 years?

AS: Developing into Cambodia and South Africa was really special and what I wish for Skateistan is to continue to develop it that way and never lose its spirit. Develop, be in the media, be positive, go out and work with the kids — this is the greatest thing you can wish for in the next 10 years. We have to spread the word of this positive thing — you are a great school on earth and the next generation is coming.

I also really think that it made a change in skateboarding. It gave this extra level to the way of thinking, and when you have people like Tony Hawk involved and the Tony Hawk Foundation you know you are on the right path. You can give the kids so much passion, a different point of view and new friendships. This is what skateboarding is all about, and it is the perfect tool for that as it is free from colour or religion. In Afghanistan, the kids need it more there than we do. When the girl in Afghanistan goes up that wall 4 meters — this is the biggest and most important moment. This is why this project has so much worth and value, and why it has to continue for another 10 years.

OP: Thank you so much Shutsi for an absolutely incredible interview. You really put your heart and soul into Skateistan.

AS: I still get excited thinking about projects we could do and this momentum is what we have to spread. Skateistan could go everywhere, all around the world, and this is what we have to make people understand. So Ollie, big thumbs up for the team, and you, for all the great ideas, I am very excited to be part of this project, my heart is really in it.

Thanks to the support of individuals and organisations, such as Andreas of IOU Ramps, we have been empowering children through skateboarding and education for 10 years now. Celebrate and follow this milestone with us on the blog, and get ready for our new campaign to support 10 more years of Skateistan which launches May 10th.

#SKATEISTAN10

--

--

Skateistan
Skateistan 10

Non-profit organization empowering children through skateboarding and education. Find out more and support at skateistan.org.