#Skateistan10: Of the past: Kov Chan Sangva “Tin”, Programs Officer at Skateistan (Cambodia)

Skateistan
Skateistan 10
Published in
4 min readApr 24, 2018

As Skateistan celebrates 10 years, founder Oliver Percovich caught up with some of the most influential individuals that helped Skateistan to grow from its early beginnings in Kabul, into an award-winning international organization. Kov Chan Sangva, better known as Tin, has been working with Skateistan for 5 years, starting as a volunteer and working her way up to Programs Officer at Skateistan Cambodia. Passionate and dedicated to teaching and skateboarding, she is a great inspiration to the students and a pioneer for women’s skateboarding in her country and beyond.

Oliver Percovich: Do you remember the first time that you saw a skateboard?

Tin: Yes, when I saw a skateboard for the first time was also the first time that I tried it. It was in 2012 at a local NGO where I was volunteering. Skateistan came to teach the children how to skateboard and I tried too. It was a cool sport and it felt really amazing to skate.

OP: Did you see other girls skateboarding?

T: At the time, it was very new here in Cambodia and there weren’t many people doing it, especially not girls. I only saw one young girl skateboarding, and she was taking part in the skateboarding lessons with Skateistan.

OP: Did you need to be brave to try skateboarding for the first time?

T: I fell when I tried for the first time! It looked so easy but when I tried it, I realized that it’s actually really hard. You need so much balance, care and control — it’s really a confidence sport. But I wanted to try because there weren’t that many people doing it, especially not girls.

OP: Has skateboarding changed your life in any way?

T: Since I joined Skateistan my life has changed a lot, in particular because of the support and motivation they have given me to progress as a person. Before, I was a shy girl and I didn’t have the confidence to try anything new, but since I joined Skateistan and started skateboarding my life has changed. I have had the opportunity to build my confidence and use skateboarding as a tool to empower myself.

OP: Do you have a favorite memory from your time at Skateistan?

T: I have a lot of great memories, it’s really hard to choose one. But one memory that is very special to me is the time when Skateistan gave me the chance to be an MC at a big event. It was my first time talking in front of a big crowd and I felt so inspired and confident. It was so amazing to have this opportunity to be brave and push myself to speak out in front of such a large audience. It’s hard to describe this feeling. Through Skateistan I have had new opportunities, skills and made many wonderful memories.

Tin MC’ing at a Go Skate Day in Phnom Penh!

OP: Skateistan has grown a lot in the last 10 years, what would you like to see Skateistan do in the next 10 years?

T: In the next 10 years I want to see Skateistan increase the number of girls that they work with. Currently 50% of our students are girls, which is very good, but in the future I want to see that number increase, as well as the number of youth living with disabilities that we work with. We need to continue to develop our programs in Cambodia and globally, so that every site is running its programs to their maximum potential and reaching as many children as possible.

OP: Thank you so much for all of your work and support at Skateistan.

T: Thank you so much for letting me be a part of the program and for giving me so many opportunities, motivation and support. I appreciate it millions!

Thanks to the support of individuals, such as Tin, we have been empowering children through skateboarding and education for 10 years now. Celebrate and follow this milestone with us on the blog, and get ready for our new campaign to support 10 more years of Skateistan which launches May 10th.

#SKATEISTAN10

--

--

Skateistan
Skateistan 10

Non-profit organization empowering children through skateboarding and education. Find out more and support at skateistan.org.