How a Homeschooler Designs Virtual Train Stations

Using Roblox and Sketch to bring virtual world simulations to life

Orion Razat
Design + Sketch
3 min readDec 9, 2021

--

Growing up in New York City, the subway really fascinated me. A massive underground or elevated system connected by decorated stations seemed really cool. I used to ride it home from school every other day, or take it to Grand Central to get snacks and toys from the gift shop. Sometimes even to Coney Island or Rockaway Beach. I always wanted to build and design my own train systems, stations, and maps.

I use a video game platform called Roblox to create my own train stations and subway driving simulators. The thing I like the most about the platform is how it lets you create anything you want. You can build zombie survival games, games based on other popular franchises, or in my case, a semi-realistic train driving game. On top of that, you can even invite friends to help you build and test your games.

An image of the Roblox studio for designing your world
An image of the Roblox world builder software

I’d say that I’m better at building virtual train stations then I am at building actual trains. There have been a few occasions where I’ve designed trains, but creating the 3D models of the trains and coding the driving interfaces is much more complicated. I wish to learn how to code my own scripts though. Currently I’m able to make blocks change colors, move, spin, and other things.

I think it would be a big accomplishment if kids in the Roblox community visit and enjoy my train simulators and station worlds. I don’t need to make money from it I just want people to appreciate transit systems the way I do.

Roblox players entering and exiting a train in one of the stations I designed

Another software program I use is Sketch, which allows me to design fictional maps, advertisements, signs, and even train blueprints. Sketch is used by professional designers and my Dad started teaching it to me when I was 8yrs old. After I design signs or maps, I publish them to the Roblox website, which allows me to use the signs I’ve created in my train simulators.

Each station sign is its own Sketch art board. This helps me organize them and make changes

I used to design train system maps with Adobe Photoshop but once I learned Sketch I got super good at making better, more complex maps.

Since I’m a fan of the New York MTA, I occassionally design trains that are similar to the ones on that system. My Dad who’s also my design teacher is encouraging me to create unique designs also, like maybe imagining what trains from the future might look like.

Designing 2D trains in Sketch to be used as texture maps in Roblox

I’m planing to try to design Seattle style street cars as a future project since I live in a neighborhood where I see them everyday. I think it would be a fun challenge to create an entire street car system in a Roblox.

The Seattle Streetcar

Orion Razat is a 7th grade homeschooler, designer, animator, train enthusiast, and STEM joke book author.

--

--