First week of using Google Gallery + Sketch

shay.
Design + Sketch
Published in
3 min readMay 17, 2018

--

Firstly, I’m one of those odd designers without an iPhone in my pocket. I’ve only owned 1 iPhone, the original one. Since then, I’ve gone through many different Android phones and currently, I’m a happy owner of Pixel 2. So naturally, I was very excited about Google IO8 keynote. And yet I was in for a treat when Google announced what they had in store for Design.

Material theming is great. And I wouldn’t have bought a design system template if I had known Google would release this. But I wanted to talk more about Gallery.

I’ve been using it for a week now, and I have to say, Gallery is a fantastic effort from the Google design team to streamline not only Material design guidelines but also the design process for everyone. With the Material’s Sketch plugin, you can upload the Artboards directly to Gallery, and anyone with a Google account can access the project to view, comment, inspect, download assets (from other Google products like Drive and Suite) and documents as Viewers and edit as Editors.

--

--

shay.
Design + Sketch

a sunday’s child (they/them). professional netizen.