The Best Sketch Features For Boosting Your Productivity

Musen Lin
Design + Sketch
Published in
5 min readSep 5, 2019

--

My sketch file shows how I typically use symbol and library to maintain my design Sketch files.

I believe there are many features in Sketch you have never used or have fear to try them out. Some of them are really worth to give them a try. Especially, Library and Symbol, these two features are super powerful, but a little bit complicated to Sketch rookies. If you want to spend hours or even days to update the UI style in your Sketch files, go ahead and don’t even bother yourself to read this article.

If you only want to change the icons or colors in some UI elements across all your Sketch files and save sometime to watch Stranger Things new season, here is what you need to know and build.

1. Style Guide

First of all, you need to have a completed style guide. I said “Completed”, not “Perfect”, meaning you need to have some sort of style guide file to lead yourself to design the website, app, or product. If you don’t know what style guide is, please please google it and see how it works in UI design. I am sure there are many people talk about this.

2. Create Sketch

--

--

Musen Lin
Design + Sketch

www.studiomusen.com I have the simplest tastes. I am always satisfied with the best. Open to all kinds of opportunities about art, design, and writing.