Two really cool things you probably didn’t know about Sketch

Abhijeet Wankhade
Sketch Tricks
Published in
2 min readOct 4, 2014

Yeah, I am obsessed with Sketch. I use it everyday and every time I find something new I just jump out of my chair and go what the fuck! (in a really good way). So recently I found out two really cool things in sketch accidentally.

1. Create auto folders while exporting

Example: Name your layer ‘MyFolder/Circle’. It’ll automatically create ‘MyFolder’ and the layer will be exported in with the name Circle. Check below.

Create folders while exporting

2. Exporting any asset to with particular height or width

Sometimes I will create an icon of say 100 x 100 px and I want it in different sizes. Sure we already have 2x, 3x, 0.5x option while exporting. But what if I want its width to be 400px or 512px. To do this you can either scale the shape to your required size and then export it, or you can just follow this method:

  1. Select your shape and make it exportable.
  2. In the size field, add your size. It can either be width or height. If its width you just add a suffix ‘w’, so for eg. you want a shape of width 512px you will add ‘512w’ in the size box. Similary for height, you’ll put ‘512h’ in the size box.
  3. Now export your assets.
Exporting made easy in Sketch 3

Do let me know if you found any of these useful and if you’ll be planning to use it in your everyday workflow.

If you thought this article was useful to you or errors, I’d absolutely love to hear back from you on twitter.

Tweet @sokratus

Also follow me on Dribbble, Behance and Facebook

--

--