An Introduction to Sketch With Beth

Bethanie Sherwood
Art With Beth
Published in
3 min readSep 30, 2024

--

Like most creative-types, we concern ourselves with the little things.

Doodles and their respective mediums by Bethanie Sherwood

For example, when I made the illustration above, I was momentarily taken aback by how closely their heads resembled coffee mugs. This observation sent me on a several-hour crusade wherein I designed a series of emojis before tackling the trio a second time. In their second life, they sported large, swooping arcs in the center of their faces and hallow craniums with a glimpse of dark-brown liquid inside.

Coffee Man is born | All images by Bethanie Sherwood

In truth, I thought this concept was fun. Just looking at them was enough to spin a narrative. Or, at least, develop the hunger for one. Let’s follow this chain of thought and see where it goes. Our runner has a coffee mug for a head, so he could be jittery and anxious. Let’s say, for the purposes of this experiment, that he wants to shake things up. Perhaps our caffeinated friend is searching for a place to relax and slow down. That’s a concept most people can relate to.

Since I have a character already, and this whole thing began from a wayward sketch, let’s do something illustrated. How does that saying go? You can’t pour from an empty cup? Well, what if the liquid in his literal cup (or head) symbolizes his energy levels (or mental health)? If he finds a place he belongs, great! His cup is filled. If he starts losing liquid, something isn’t quite right.

This is great because it could be used for any mental health or wellness analogy. But, for the purposes of this experiment, we’ll keep it light. He’s just an anxious dude trying to find a place where he feels safe, validated. We could call it The Search for Home.

A close-up of the charcoal guy | Bethanie Sherwood

Pretty cool, right? To think, all this happened because I gave my imagination the freedom to roam. And that’s what I hope to do with this publication. I hope it encourages each and every one of you to grant yourself permission to be creative. To be bored. To explore the world around you.

Guys, let’s be real for a second: the world is pretty f***ing cool. When I’m out in public, looking around, most of what I see are bent necks, noses chained to plastic, and dull eyes that sweep across a screen. It’s depressing.

It reminds me of the first time I was prescribed glasses. Don’t get me wrong, I knew blades of grass existed (because I’d touched them and seen them up close) and I knew clouds were wispy and layered (in theory). But the first time I saw blades of grass from a car window and the layers and layers of texture in the sky on a random Tuesday, I was floored. Exploring the outdoors became my new favorite past-time.

At the risk of sounding preachy or taboo, I think our society needs an eye exam. And I think it’s because we’ve become so blind to these wonders — because we aren’t really present or appreciative of this world and the life we were given — that developments like GenAI have been allowed to flourish.

Did I lose a few of you there? That’s alright.

If you’re still here, thank you. And welcome to Sketch With Beth; where we find new ways to be present by celebrating the little things, and then catalogue those moments through art. It’s a great way to learn a thing or two about various mediums — and it’s free.

A few of these posts are already written, so I’ll be publishing regularly until we’re caught up.

See you soon,

Beth

--

--

Bethanie Sherwood
Art With Beth

Bethanie Sherwood is a multidisciplinary artist, writer, outdoor enthusiast, and ministry student who believes creativity lives in all of us.