Make Time: How to Focus on What Matters Every Day (Book Review)

I was skeptical at first but now I’m a believer!

Rizwan Javaid
Sketching Machine
2 min readJan 7, 2019

--

Nature has a way of guiding you to what you need to learn. As I am focusing more on reading and writing this year I happened to come across Jake Knapp and John Zeratsky’s latest book Make Time: How to Focus on What Matters Every Day. After going through a digital detox towards the end of last year I wanted to get back more of the time I lose through the distractions of social media.

At first, I was skeptical about this book since Jake Knapp was previously at Google and there are many Google apps which cause me to lose my focus, I guess it was guilt by association. But after having read Jake Knapp and John Zeratsky’s previous book How to Solve Big Problems and Test New Ideas in Just Five Days and listening to Jake speak about his new book on the Designbetter.co podcast I really connected with Jake’s message of making time for the important things in our lives through small and deliberate tactics. As I started reading Make Time: How to Focus on What Matters Every Day I noticed that I didn’t want to put it down. This book gave me hope and armed me with techniques to bring back my focus and sanity in my digitally distracted world.

Make Time includes more than 80 tactics for finding focus and building energy, plus a four-step daily framework for choosing the ones that work best for you.

What I love about this book:
First, it lists easy to implement strategies you can start right now to focus on the things that matter.

Second, the writing and tone are down to earth and funny like a friend guiding you throughout the book by sharing their good and bad experiences to help you make the right decisions for yourself.

And third, I love the sketches peppered throughout the book by Jake. They make the book an easy and fun read.

Make Time: How to Focus on What Matters Every Day is now my go-to-source as I continue the fight to make time for the things that are important to me.

Did you read this book? I would love to know what your thoughts are about this book and strategies you use to make time for yourself.

--

--

Rizwan Javaid
Sketching Machine

Helping creatives build a mindset of resilience, care, and confidence. I publish the Low Fidelity newsletter and podcast to help you achieve your true potential