Sharon Stephen
Sketchpad
Published in
2 min readDec 31, 2020

--

2020: Wow

This year was a pretty tough year for most of us

The year of the pandemic.

We see these things happen in Sci-fi movies, never would I have thought or imagined that we would actually live through such a global pandemic

We lost a lot of humans to this Coronavirus Pandemic

And that’s just 1 of the strange things that happened this year

Wildfires, riots, killings, appearances of monoliths?

Phew!

Okay, okay

I’m just going to jump write in and write 20 things that made me happy this year:

  1. I completed my medical internship training
  2. I documented 48 weeks of my internship experience
  3. I made new friends
  4. I became a fully licensed doctor
  5. I decided to do residency and chose an area of specialization
  6. I got an iPad
  7. I got a new phone
  8. I learnt how to use photoshop and Lightroom
  9. I saved a lot of money
  10. I started a business and made money off it
  11. I grew spiritually
  12. I was able to afford things that I wanted
  13. I learnt more about myself
  14. I read a lot
  15. I started learning Korean
  16. I became a bit more confident in myself
  17. I got to witness a whole lot of Nigerian youth come together in a unified voice to speak out against injustice in the country.
  18. I worried less
  19. I prayed more
  20. My family and I somehow managed to survive this pandemic

I’m truly grateful to God, for these 20 things and more.

Things were quite different this year, but all in all, I managed to grow and be better and stronger, even in the midst of all the chaos.

My heart breaks for those who lost their lives or lost their loved ones, who lost finances, a means of livelihood, to this terrible pandemic.

I only hope that 2021 becomes better, for all of us.

Cheers to a new year

Goodbye 2020

Hello 2021

Try writing 20 things that made you happy this year

--

--

Sharon Stephen
Sketchpad

A young Nigerian woman, sharing her thoughts and feelings, while hoping that you find solace or solidarity in her written words. 💜