Sharon Stephen
Sketchpad
Published in
3 min readSep 17, 2020

--

I’m only human

It’s no news that I’m a Christian, born again, redeemed, spirit filled and all that good stuff.

Being a Christian, I’m well aware of the kind of life I am supposed to live. I know that I have been called to be perfect like my Father in heaven and I also know that true perfection can only come by relying on the perfection of the perfect Lamb- Jesus.

I’m not pressured or overwhelmed with this great ‘responsibility’, I count it all as joy. After all, what child wouldn’t want to do things that please their Father?

I’m compelled to live right, not because I believe that it would make my Father love me more, but simply because I love my Father. And when you love someone, you want to do things that make them happy.

What happens then when you sin? When you make the Father whom you love so much hurt?

The overwhelming guilt, the shame, the pain, it’s always a lot to bear.

You’re not worthy. You’re a terrible daughter. You don’t deserve to be loved. You’re a hopeless cause.

These are the lies of the enemy echoing in my mind. As I struggle to restore my relationship back with my Father.

Fear grips me as I’m about to fall on my knees once again to say, ‘Abba, I have failed you. I am not worthy to be your daughter. I’m sorry, please forgive me.’

My loving Father looks up at me and holds me in His arms saying:

I know how hard it is for you to live a perfect life, to be sinless and blameless before my eyes. My dear child, I never asked you to do this alone. I wanted you to rely on me. Let me give you the strength to overcome sin. Let me help you to make me happy. I love you and nothing, not even sin, can separate you from my love.

“For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him.”

‭‭Philippians‬ ‭2:13‬ ‭NLT‬‬

“I have discovered this principle of life — that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. I love God’s law with all my heart. But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death? Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord. So you see how it is: In my mind I really want to obey God’s law, but because of my sinful nature I am a slave to sin.”

‭‭Romans‬ ‭7:21–25‬ ‭NLT‬‬

“Do not let sin control the way you live; do not give in to sinful desires. Do not let any part of your body become an instrument of evil to serve sin. Instead, give yourselves completely to God, for you were dead, but now you have new life. So use your whole body as an instrument to do what is right for the glory of God. Sin is no longer your master, for you no longer live under the requirements of the law. Instead, you live under the freedom of God’s grace.”

‭‭Romans‬ ‭6:12–14‬ ‭NLT‬‬

--

--

Sharon Stephen
Sketchpad

A young Nigerian woman, sharing her thoughts and feelings, while hoping that you find solace or solidarity in her written words. 💜