Graham Takes Musical Talents to Boston

SKHS
SKHS Rebellion
Published in
2 min readSep 10, 2015

By Colin McGreen

Luke Graham … You may not know the name now, but you will.

Graham is one of South Kingstown High School’s most talented musicians. He has mastered many percussion instruments and is skilled at the guitar, piano, bass guitar and vocals.

Graham also plays a key role in the school’s orchestra and jazz band, usually leading the percussion section.

Graham is also the founding member of local band S. Walcott, known for putting on great shows at Open Mic Night and other venues.

This fall, Graham’s outstanding musical abilities have landed him a spot in Berklee College of Music’s freshman class.

“I’ve wanted to go the Berklee since I figured out what I wanted to do in college which is to produce music, make music, make music my thing,” Graham stated.

“I knew Berklee was one of the best places to go in the country for music,” continued Graham, “so I set my sights there.”

Berklee was ranked by Best Colleges the fourth best music school in the world because of their approaches to modern and contemporary music rather than classical. Graham will be studying in the same classrooms as famous rock musician John Mayer.

Graham started taking drum lessons when he was only six years old, but it wasn’t always a big deal to him.

“I was always sort of made to go to those lessons,” said Graham. “I wasn’t really that into playing until middle school.”

“That is when I started the band.”

Graham’s band S. Walcott boasts a large fan base mostly comprised of students at SKHS.

On any given day, students can see an SKHS student rocking one of Graham’s band shirts designed by fellow bandmate Rory Maynard-Dean. The signature S. Walcott logo has become a part of South Kingstown High School.

Over the past four years, the grouping of Luke, Rory, Paul Sayour, Willie Grear and Johnny Donnelly has resulted in one of South Kingstown’s most famous music groups.

“[Middle school] is when we started the band that eventually turned into S. Walcott and that’s when I started getting into music.”

Although Graham’s skills are unquestionable, he is still shocked at his own success.

“I didn’t think I would get in [to Berklee],” stated Graham. “Berklee is one of the top places in the country and I’ve never considered myself that great musician.”

“But I don’t know,” continued Graham, “I’ve had enough practice recording and producing. They saw the materials I sent in and liked it I guess.”

It has been a long road for Graham at South Kingstown High School, building up a reputation as a skilled musician. And now after all the hard work and determination, his dreams are coming true right in front of him.

“I’m really excited,” Graham said.

--

--