Historic Old Town Trogir, Croatia

Tom Gambill
SkiCat’s Earth Adventures

--

Tinel Specialty Coffee
Tinel Specialty Coffee

Before heading to the marina to meet the crew and board the boat, I spent some time wandering the streets of Old Town Trogir. The tiny island has a lot of the look and charm of larger historic towns in Croatia such as Dubrovnik or Split, but a bit less focused on foreign tourists. While it does see a lot of tourists from around Europe, I found that there were far more locals present and it was considerably slower-paced, at least when I was there in May.

Mochaccino
Iced Mochaccino

First up, coffee! Finding a mocha cappuccino (my favorite sweet coffee) in Croatia is tough. It seems that most people in Croatia put sugar in theirs, so you’ll always get one or two packets of sugar with each drink…but the idea of ruining a perfectly good cappuccino with chocolate? Tinel Specialty Coffee, nestled right in the heart of Old Town was the one exception I found. A “Mochaccino” he called it, highly recommended!

Typical Plaza in Old Trogir
Typical Plaza in Old Trogir

With my coffee mission complete, I was off to check out the sites. There are quite a few notable buildings and historic sites to see. I didn’t take any…

--

--

Tom Gambill
SkiCat’s Earth Adventures

Software Engineer, Retro Hacker, World Traveler. And also: sailboats, fish tanks, nature, family, startups…