My Internship at Skilio: Three Takeaways I Learnt

Teo Kai Pun
Skilio
Published in
5 min readMay 30, 2022
Photo by Remy_Loz on Unsplash

I remember the time in my third year of undergraduate studies when I started to look for an internship. Although it was my first internship, I was thankful for the opportunities that Skilio has given me to develop myself and learn things that I could not have learnt anywhere else.

As I look forward to my commencement that rounds up my undergraduate journey, my internship with Skilio is also coming to end. With this, I would like to share three of my greatest takeaways from my internship with Skilio and hope that they will be interesting and useful for fellow readers who are looking for a job or an internship or are figuring life out in general.

  1. Always be ready to learn new things!

Working in a start-up meant that there were many opportunities to work on new projects and gain experience in different areas. Being a Skills & Research Intern has allowed me to put into practice what I have studied in my psychology major. That said, I have had the opportunity to work on tasks that were beyond my field. For example, I worked to automate report generations. Although I was initially unfamiliar with the formulae and tools required, I found joy in the processes of trial and error, reading guides, and watching videos on the magic of spreadsheet functions and how to use the different software. Also, by taking in the input of fellow colleagues, I was able to tinker with the format of the reports and design the process from inputting raw data on users’ soft skills development to the production of easy-to-read reports that are insightful to Skilio’s users. Beyond that, my internship at Skilio has also encouraged me to reflect more and share about my learning experiences through writing articles such as this and writing my first Medium article on making the best out of one’s university experience. All these opportunities have enabled me to embrace facing challenges and taking the initiative to learn new ways of doing things that I have never done before.

2. Learn to manage your time well.

As I continued my internship with Skilio throughout my final year at university, I was saddled with not only my work at Skilio but also my academic commitments and my part-time job to supplement my income. This made time management all the more important given the series of deadlines to meet, assessments to prepare for and the job search for full-time employment after graduation. Despite the time crunch, I have tried several techniques that have aided me in keeping up with my deadlines and managing my time well.

One technique I used was to list my deadlines on a spreadsheet and arrange them in chronological order, colour-coding them and adding additional details (example here). Having such spreadsheets took off the mental load of having to memorise my deadlines. Also, it allowed me to plan ahead and work on more tasks in advance to avoid having to rush assignments that are due within the same week. Another technique I tried was to practise mindfulness when doing my work to avoid distractions. As someone who easily mind-wanders, being mindful when I do my work has allowed my mind to better recognise my tendencies to be distracted and bring myself back to focus on whatever I was doing. Taken together, these techniques have allowed me to manage my time better by helping me be more clear-minded and focused.

3. Understand how what you do fits into the greater picture.

When we are thoroughly fixated on our tasks, we may lose sight of the value and meaning behind doing what we do, to the extent that we are just going through the motion. However, regular company-wide meetings and presentations by various departments in Skilio have allowed me to better appreciate how different departments’ efforts translate into business growth and better initiatives and products that cater to students and professionals who are keen on soft skills development. For example, our new Skilio Campus Academy caters to jobseekers who wish to match their skills to their desired jobs, where jobseekers can complete relevant, well-curated skills modules and be recommended by Skilio to prospective employers. The success of this initiative could not have happened without reaching out to prospective partners, understanding jobseekers’ needs and effective marketing of the programme, which are all done by different teams within Skilio. Therefore, while the work of an individual may seem like a drop in the ocean, understanding how one’s work matters has given me greater motivation and understanding of the value behind what I do.

On a personal level, understanding how my work helps me to grow has allowed me to be more conscious of my learning process. Although some tasks may feel mundane at times, I learnt to find meaning in my work by understanding that whatever I learn through my internship experience adds up to the skills I accumulate. For example, while I initially found seeking prospective business partners through LinkedIn and social media platforms to be boring, along the way I learnt to become better at searching for relevant leads and also understand which communication channels were more effective in getting replies. While reading journal articles over journal articles, I learnt to understand how soft skills are conceptualised and observed in various organisational settings. Through all these tasks, I learnt to appreciate how the little things I have done throughout this internship have contributed to my overall personal development and growth in knowledge.

In all, I am thankful to Skilio to have given me the opportunity to learn and grow throughout the past year. My experiences at Skilio have not only helped me develop my knowledge and skills but also given me the confidence to share what I have learnt as I embarked on my job search and attended interviews for my full-time job applications. I hope that the three takeaways I have shared here will be useful to you and other fellow undergraduates finding their way in university life and the future.

--

--