Funny E-mails

Peggy Chen
skill hacking with humor
2 min readFeb 28, 2018

Another day calls for another chance to test my humor at a professional level. For one of my in class activities, the task was to respond to another person’s blog from another section of the class. According to my knowledge, I remembered that one of my friends is also taking this class so I turned to my partner and asked if we should give her some feedback.

Together we composed an e-mail as followed:

There was nothing humorous about the purpose or content of this e-mail, but more so the relationship between the writer and the receiver. The relationship between Ms. Yu and I is that we’re very good friends and do not speak to each other in such a formal language. This e-mail was also unexpected on her part, therefore, it should have been a shock for her to receive this content.

This was her response:

Based on the response from the e-mail and an encounter with Yu in person, this broke the barrier for and helped us realize a common ground of understanding between holding a formal relationship and a personal relationship. I think this really helped kick a start for this in class activity because she was able to respond to my blog post in return.

The feedback I recieved moments later:

Despite the fact that we are in different sections of the class, we are able to maintain a professional level of task to be done, as well as enforcing humor throughout the process. In a parallel world of the workforce, this scenario could have been me e-mailing her whom belonged to another department of the office.

Feel free to also check out Summer Yu’s blog about the importance of time management:

--

--