My Final Thoughts

Peggy Chen
skill hacking with humor
2 min readMar 5, 2018

Over this past week I attempted to implement my humor side into some activities to help improve my soft skill hacking. I was very interested in my selection of this project because growing up I was not as out-going and capable of speaking my thoughts like I am now. My goal for this project was originally to improve my skills and prepare for my future career but I have learned more than just when to be funny. This soft skill amplified my communication skills and extended my connections with people around me. Using humor at the appropriate time could really help to lighten the atmosphere and create a well balanced and reciprocated relationship with my peers.

Some additional activities I did to enforce this skill was to reach out to classmates I wasn’t necessarily close with. I understood that in the Business major many of us attend the same classes and share the same schedule so there were a lot of familiar faces. For one of my classes I was struggling with my homework so I decided to study with two other peers. Unfortunately for last week’s homework I didn’t do as well, but after meeting up with my classmates I was able to earn a perfect score for this week’s work.

The person that tutored me was originally just an acquaintance, but to break the whole study mode I wanted to learn more about him. We shared with each other our cultural background and it turns out that he is also Chinese but more specifically Fujianese. I was able to identify this about him because I used to teach Fujianese students and they talked in the same manner of assurance and confidence.

My other classmate that was studying with me laughed about it and joked with our tutor about how his personality can land him a job and he should really consider becoming a TA. I believe our peer was very flattered to hear that and it ended our session on a high note. He later offered us food to accommodate our studies, which was a very nice gesture that was reciprocated.

This overall experience enlightened me on how being professional doesn’t always restrict the need for humor. Incorporating this skill can build strong relationships as well as leaving a deeper impression upon someone because things tend to go smoother in this manner.

Best,

Peggy Chen

--

--