What Humor Means to Me

Peggy Chen
skill hacking with humor
2 min readFeb 21, 2018

Laughter is a universal language that anyone and everyone can relate to. This language is derived from an important and often foreseen soft skill known as humor. It is important to use humor as a technique in the workplace because this skill can help achieve desired outcomes and also change the emotions of people around us. In some situations, a little joke can change a conflicting situation or even influence an opinion by means of persuasion.

In addition, some questions I might go in depth with are when is it appropriate to be funny or how can humor improve someone’s first impression. Both these questions can really help to assist people on coming out of their comfort zone and to overcome fears like public speaking. I hope to gain a lot of knowledge and insight through my research because it feels great to make people laugh; not only does it boost my self-esteem but it also makes my day to know that someone enjoyed a short memory of time from an encounter between us.

My goal for the end of the project is to make a reader stop and laugh or be able to relate about a time they tried executing this skill. I will measure my progress by asking for feedback from friends or checking the comment section of this blog. I think it is already funny enough that humor being such a universal trait but such a hard skill to execute in a professional work area.

To achieve my goals, I plan to include comical media like gifs or videos to emphasize my thoughts. I also intend to do more public speaking since humor is pretty much a key element of this part. This skill can also give off impressions like friendly, sociable, ability to make light of sticky situations, and even making sales. Most importantly, this aspect can guide a job interview or a presentation at ease and easily land someone a job or a promotion.

--

--