Empathy as one of aspect of emotional intelligence

Wenxin Yu
skill hacking
Published in
3 min readMar 4, 2018

Empathy is the ability of people to recognize and respond to the emotions of others. It’s the basis of sympathy and compassion. Without empathy, sympathy and compassion tend to be inaccurate and may result in more friction and resentment. This is since the people who are aim to sympathy or compassion have emphasized sensitivity to actions that are not based on empathetic understanding. They potentially feel that actions are degrading forms of pity if they are not understanding others. Understand why people behave the way they do is the essential element of emotional intelligence.

After reading of the blog of Lisa Marcellus about empathy. She enables me to know what exactly empathy is and how to use some useful language and expressions to show the empathy. This is important for me as I often say some strict words to my friends. Actually I did not feel the wrong expressions and words, but it makes my friends uncomfortable. This is the feedback from my friends, they all think I am the good person, however not the person who can appreciate others and put myself into their situation. Moreover, In Marcellus’s article, she emphasized the importance of listening. She introduced the way how to actively listening to others’ feelings and opinions, including concern others’ feelings rather than own response, echoing and repeating their saying, eyes contact and body language. For my experience, my uncle is the person who has the high level of emotional intelligence, his saying is always key to the point and before that he always listening and show his respect and attention to your sayings. I am likely to talk everything with him causes from this, I can get empathy, which makes me comfortable.

I guess this is why my uncle has considerable number of friends. His empathy and social skills are his keys to achieve this.

In Marcellus’s article, she also talks about the experience with his friend about empathy practices. The sayings that show active listening make his friend feel good after the failure of interview.

Empathy is important. When empathy is missing, people has a difficult time connecting to their prospect or others’ feelings, their thoughts, and their emotions. To the prospect, it comes across as a lack of interest, a cool distance, a lack of engagement. It leaves the prospect wondering if the people really understands their problems or dissatisfaction.

For my future, I will actively apply the actively listening to show my empathy and gradually become the person that every people are willing to keep company.

Marcellus. L. (2018, March 04). Empathy. Retrieved fromhttps://medium.com/emotional-intelligence-learn-practice-apply/empathy-ccf65fa01d40.

--

--