Features of emotional intelligence

Wenxin Yu
skill hacking
Published in
2 min readMar 1, 2018

Emotional intelligence is the ability to sense, understand and effectively apply the power and acumen of emotions as a source of human energy, information, connection and influence. Robert K. Cooper

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=McG6tETL93s.

That is the ted talk about how emotional intelligence for people’s success.

Have you ever thought of why people of average intelligence outperform people with the highest levels of intelligence majority of the time? Emotional intelligence is the individual’s capacity to recognize the feelings and those of others, for motivating ours, managing emotions in ourselves as well as in the relationship with others. Emotional intelligence is essential to control the people’s behavior, moving smoothly through social situations and making right decisions in life. If we lack of emotional intelligence, whenever stress rises the human brain switches to autopilot and has an inherent tendency to do more of the same, only harder. Which, more often than not, is precisely the unreasonable approach in contemporary world. Have you ever feel it is hard to control you emotion when make some decisions? Have you ever feel when choices are several, it is difficult to figure out what options are most fitted? Have you ever feel difficult to deal with complex relationship within the world?

As the colleague student, I need both make decisions based on evaluation process, maintain great relationship with others and correctly utilize our emotion for certain purposes.

My strength of emotional intelligence is relationship management as I can always reasonably deal with the relationship with others, which make the groups work effectively and productively. From this view, various classmates are willing to be group with me. For my way to relationship management, I will plan ahead and make plans to meet up and meet with deadline with completed tasks, this probably avoids diverse conflicts, which is adverse for relationship of other group members. Moreover, my self awareness ability is great as I am able to recognize the emotions and how they affect the thoughts and behaviors. Before sleeping every day, I will close the eyes and think about things happened today and identify as much as possible the emotions involved in the behaviors and reflect it rightness and wrongness. That helps me a lot as reflection is the way to be better. However, I am not the people with the high emotional management skills. I sometimes lose my temper to other people due to the small mistakes either from me or others. Especially when someone criticize me, I am easily argue with them and not able to control the emotions.

In the next blog, I will identify the steps for emotional intelligence enhancement.

--

--