Let us prevent toxic people from your positive emotion

Wenxin Yu
skill hacking
Published in
3 min readMar 3, 2018

People’s emotion is largely affected by other individuals’ behaviors. Toxic people defy logic. Some are blissfully unaware of the negative impact that they have on those around them, and others seem to derive satisfaction from creating chaos and pushing other people’s buttons. Either way, they create unnecessary complexity, strife, and worst of all tress. In my own experience, I am the person who are easily lost my temper due to others’ behaviors. Actually I am not able to handle this, when negative person stand with me, I always not happy and feel emotionally affected.

Brief Introduction

There is an article about the way how emotionally intelligent people handle toxic people published on the TalentSmart. According to article, it firstly points out how toxic people affect the people’s emotion. The main one is exposure the toxic people may drive people’s brain into a stressed-out state, and when people under the pressures, they usually are not able to control their emotion, therefore adversely influencing the performance either in life or work. After claims the negative influences of toxic people. There are several ways emotionally intelligent people deal with toxic people, which offers me diverse insights to establish my future plan to enhance my emotional intelligence. For one, toxic people always complain, they really focus on the problems that have rather than figure out the valid solutions to address them. The first strategy that emotionally intelligent people deal with toxic people is to set limits with the toxic people when they complain the faced challenges. Alternatively, the article identifies that emotionally intelligent people emphasize the available facts and information rather than emotional chaos. It means that when making decisions, emotionally intelligent people account facts and information more than emotions to determine which actions intend to implement. Furthermore, “Maintaining an emotional distance requires awareness. You can’t stop someone from pushing your buttons if you don’t recognize when it’s happening”. This indicates emotionally intelligent people will stay aware of the emotion before toxic people trigger the button. Additionally, the sense of pleasure and satisfaction sometimes are come from others’ opinions, but emotionally intelligent people are able to stay away from others’ opinions, which enables happiness to be remained. In some conditions, people cannot refuse negative feelings from toxic people, it is easy for negative self-talk come out. It is unrealistic, unnecessary, and self-defeating and it sends you into a downward emotional spiral that is difficult to pull out of. So emotionally intelligent people can avoid the negative self-talk.

Previous experience

In my experience, these strategies seem to be my weaknesses as I am not able to apply these for controlling my emotion. From the reading of description of toxic people, I am the type of toxic people with negative feelings and emotions all the time. When university exam approaching, I am the most stressful one, during the exam period, I cannot even sleep at night. This adversely affects me a lot, although I conduct exam preparation works before exam, I am still worry significantly.

Future plan

My short term plan is to utilize these strategies in life and work. In the next blog, I will find about information about how to be emotionally intelligent people. In the long term, I will gradually master some techniques to control the emotions.

How Emotionally Intelligent People Handle Toxic People.(2017). TalentSmart. Retrieved 03 March 2018, from http://www.talentsmart.com/articles/article.php?title=How-Emotionally-Intelligent-People-Handle-Toxic-People&ID=1028629190.

--

--