A Journey Worth Remembering

Journey to dreams

“Life is about the journey, not the destination.” — Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Our whole life, we are taught to think and focus on our destination. This makes us so focused on our end goal that we seldom and never enjoy our journey. We forget that the transformation that has made us reach the destination does not occur overnight. Instead, it summarises small steps, risks and good or bad decisions we have taken throughout our journey. The journey that leads us to our dreams is what helps bring change in us.

When I started Skillsoft 7 weeks ago, I was extremely excited for the journey ahead. Now, when I look back, I can say I loved working here every day. It would be a few instances where I learnt from every step and process without even thinking about the destination. I can see the transformation in myself.

Next week is my last week at Skillsoft. This opportunity helped me dive deeper into marketing approaches. Everything I have learnt and the feedback I received from my mentors helped me grow. When I started as a Corporate Marketing Intern and the person, I am now, I am now visibly different. When I started, I had no understanding of my work and deliverables since it would be my first time as a marketing and analytics professional. But now, I have a fair idea about how to approach things and the strategies behind them.

My mother always says, “Everyone teaches us something we do not know every day”. I can positively say I learnt every day and from everyone. The people at Skillsoft are generous, helpful and motivating. I still remember the applause and motivation I received from my first blog. It made me so happy and confident about myself and my writing. I have always wanted to pursue writing, not just a hobby and Skillsoft allowed me to live that dream. I am leaving Skillsoft, but I am taking much more. A positive change in my technical and professional learnings and a change in my personal life. I am affirmative that I am going to continue this habit of writing further in the future.

I am eternally grateful to my colleagues at Skillsoft, who made the experience a memorable one. The work meetings, the fun catch-ups and coffee breaks were not physical ones, but I am sure I did not miss out on any moment.

Learning is a process, which starts with a single step. When we move along, we can tremble. But, with little motivation and inspiration, we can achieve the unimaginable. Believe in the present without regretting the past and worrying about the future. Trust the power of now. It moulds us, shapes us and helps us create the individual who we are. Our goals may be identical or change with time, but one thing is sure, the journey of life changes us.

My closing remarks will be: Learn to trust your journey even when you do not understand it. The only limit in life is our thinking. Help people when you see the determination in them. Motivate them to be better. Time is limited, and a lot is going in this world. So, prioritize. Choose what is important for you, be it happiness, money or work, but not at the cost of family and health. We achieve what we think we can accomplish, and we become what we believe. Expand your horizons, observe people and learn from them. Be fearless in the pursuit of what sets your soul on fire.

Thank you, Skillsoft and my mentors, colleagues and everyone working here! I am eternally grateful for this journey — a journey worth remembering.

--

--