Bridging Management & IT: Aileen’s Experience as an IT Solutions — HR Intern

At Skillsoft, professional development is a priority for customers, employees, and interns alike, with the company providing internal opportunities for students to hone their corporate and technical skills. As a marketing intern this summer, I’ve experienced this firsthand, having spent time earning a plethora of badges on Percipio, gleaning invaluable insight from my managers, and hearing from colleagues in a variety of roles about their career paths.

Notably, one of my favorite sources of growth comes from discussions with my fellow interns. From marketing to IT, we all offer unique perspectives that inspire me to reflect on my goals and work hard to achieve them. I recently spoke to Aileen Quiroz, our IT Solutions — HR intern and a rising senior at the University of Houston, about her experience at Skillsoft and her main takeaways thus far.

Read on to learn about her journey!

Tell me about yourself. What are you studying in school, and what do you like to do outside of it?

At the University of Houston, I’m studying Management Information Systems. There, I took some marketing courses, including a course on UX design, and discovered my interest in HR, which is how I found this internship. In my free time, I like to do my nails. I started with dip powder and have recently been using Gel X. However, it can get complicated — and expensive!

What sparked your interest in IT? What areas of IT are you most passionate about, and why?

I’m really passionate about anything product-related. In my current HR-focused IT solutions role, I love providing tangible solutions for employees. My degree has a lot to do with delivering solutions to companies through products and margins, making it especially fascinating to me.

What attracted you to apply for this internship? Was there a particular aspect of the company or role that stood out to you?

Past experiences and internships I’ve had tended to focus on one particular aspect of the field, but this job description merged tech, business, and design, so I felt it was something I could use for a lot of different opportunities in the future. I also liked that the product was a learning platform, as it allows me to continue learning things myself.

What projects have you been involved in during your time here?

My main project is working on integrating Workday into our organization. Right now, everyone is using PeopleSoft, but Workday makes it easier to log your hours and communicate with employees. We’re implementing this in phases, and right now, I’m working on building a user guide to help new users access Workday. I’ve gathered past user guides and have been testing and modifying them. Apart from this, I’m working on a project focused on providing feedback on Percipio and creating an app in PowerApps for data entry.

What is the greatest lesson you have learned from this internship? What is the best advice you have been given from a Skillsoft colleague?

Being able to adapt has been the greatest lesson. Learning a new platform is a skill in itself that requires more than simply going in and clicking around — you really have to get in the mindset of the new user and make it accessible. Time management is also big as I’ve had to balance emails, meetings, and work time. The best advice I’ve received is to be a step ahead. My manager, Vanessa, always tells me to not only focus on tasks you’ve been assigned but also show interest in other areas outside of your direct responsibilities. This approach has helped connect me to more people in the company.

Are there initiatives or activities at Skillsoft that have helped you feel more integrated into the company?

All the interns have a coffee chat once a week, where we meet on Microsoft Teams. It’s cool that we have a platform where we can talk and give feedback based on our experiences, which fosters inclusivity.

If you could work on any future project at Skillsoft, what would it be and why?

We had a Lunch & Learn with Potoula Chresomales, SVP of Product Management, and I would love the opportunity to shadow her to see how she manages developers and UX designers. She’s a product manager herself, so collaborating on a project with her would be incredibly valuable.

How do you hope this internship helps you grow personally and professionally?

I hope that gaining experience in HR will open doors for me within my career. I spoke with Vanessa about being unsure if I wanted to pursue the technical or HR side of project management, and what I’ve done so far has made it possible for me to secure another job in HR. This experience is perfect for leveraging my skills in HR and understanding employment dynamics.

Based on your experiences, how would you describe Skillsoft’s company culture? Can you provide an example that exemplifies this culture?

I appreciate that everyone is so open to guiding people who may not have the experience that others do. My manager is always enthusiastic, accommodating, and available to provide clarification. They understand that we’re interns and are eager to help us learn and reach new levels of achievement. You never feel like a burden; they encourage us to bother them and ask questions.

What advice would you give to someone who is just starting as an intern in a similar role? Is there something you wish you had known before starting?

I wish I had started connecting with people sooner. At the beginning, I focused too much on getting organized and understanding teams and projects. But during your first week, you have the least amount of work, so that’s the best time to connect with other interns or colleagues in positions that interest you and ask to shadow them or gather information about opportunities you could work on.

We hope you took something away from Aileen’s experience throughout her summer internship and beyond. Stay tuned for more insightful interviews with our IT interns as the summer continues!

Aileen Quiroz, IT Solutions — HR Intern

--

--