College is Over, Now What? Navigating Post-Grad Life

Mia Kabillio
Achieving Our Greatness: The Intern Story
3 min readSep 29, 2023

Life after graduation can be scary. I graduated from college this past June, and I know first-hand how feelings of uncertainty can become overwhelming once school is over. This was the first time in nearly two decades where I wouldn’t be returning to school in the fall. No more classes, exams, papers. No more early morning crew practices, or late-night study sessions. What was I going to do with all this newly acquired free time?

Over the summer, I had time to adjust to post-grad life, but honestly the fact that I had graduated didn’t really sink in. I kept waiting to miss my school, my friends, my team, but instead, I just felt normal. When would it hit me that I was actually done?

Now, I’m more than three months out from graduation, and I think it’s finally starting to sink in. Maybe it’s because in less than a week, I’ll be moving out of my childhood home and into my own apartment. Maybe it’s because I have a real job where I’ll be making my own money, and fully supporting myself. I just got my first credit card and signed my first lease, and I’m actually starting to feel like a real adult. I’m extremely excited about all these new changes, but to be honest, I’m also kind of scared.

This is the first time in my life where I truly feel like I have the freedom to do what I want to do. To make my own choices and live my own life. But with that freedom comes responsibility and I’m worried that I’ll make plenty of mistakes along the way. But isn’t that part of growing up? Making mistakes and learning from them. Moving to a new place and trying to fit in. Living on your own and finding new friends.

The one thing that has been constant throughout all these changes is Skillsoft. Through this internship, I’ve met so many amazing people who have taught me an endless number of new things. From how to successfully write a blog post to tips on presenting in front of large groups, my Skillsoft family has provided me with plenty of professional experiences that helped me grow. But most importantly, they’ve helped me realize that I am capable of so much more than I thought I was. I’m so grateful to the team that I worked with this summer, and all the amazing connections I’ve made, and I’m so excited to learn even more things, and make even more connections through this internship in the fall.

Another part of growing up is learning to take risks. Someone at Skillsoft recently told me that we shouldn’t be passive participants in our own lives. Going outside of your comfort zone can feel scary, but that’s life. Graduating from college might seem like the end of an era, but it’s also the beginning of something so much more exciting. I’m finally ready to accept the fact that I’m not going back to college this year, and I’m okay with that, because I know that I have so much more to learn in the real world, and so much more to see. My life feels like the start of a new adventure, and I can’t wait to start living it.

--

--