Everything I’ve Learned from My Internship

Mia Kabillio
Achieving Our Greatness: The Intern Story
5 min readMay 31, 2024

In one week from today, I will have worked at Skillsoft for one whole year. One year of team meetings, mentorship sessions, weekly coffee chats, blog edits, and lots of learning and growth. This internship has been the longest job I’ve had in my entire life, and I am so grateful for all the opportunities it has provided me, as well as the relationships I have formed — both personally and professionally — while working here.

As my internship comes to an end, I wanted to take some time to reflect on the most important things I’ve learned during my time here.

1. Don’t be afraid to ask for help

When you’re new to a job, asking for help can be scary. Starting my position at Skillsoft, I didn’t want anyone to know when I as struggling with an assignment because I was worried that they would doubt my qualifications for the job. Scared of looking inadequate, people often waste a lot of time trying to solve problems on their own, when those problems could have been solved much quicker if they had just asked for help from the get-go. Instead of trying to work through every issue on your own, asking for help shows that you can take initiative and work with a team to solve any problems that may arise.

2. Manage your time wisely

Managing an internship while also being a student or having another part-time job can be challenging. It’s important to organize your time wisely, make sure you have a balanced schedule, and create clear boundaries. By creating a daily routine and trying to stick to it during all of my workdays, I was able to comfortably adjust to my new schedule, and it helped ensure balance between my personal and professional life. I also found that working in various locations, like a local café, coworking space, or even a different room in my apartment, helped me to feel like I had more control over my schedule rather than everyday feeling repetitive or mundane. Creating boundaries was also an important part of managing my time. Once I logged off for the day, I would try not to answer any work emails or Teams messages unless they were extremely important, allowing me to more easily relax and focus on having fun in my life outside of work.

3. It’s okay to make mistakes

Making mistakes is part of learning. As an intern, who is new to a company, you are not going to know how to do everything right away, and that’s okay. Rather than being scared to make mistakes, embrace the learning opportunities that come with them, and use it to improve your knowledge and abilities for the future.

4. Have confidence in your abilities

Imposter syndrome affects many people in the workplace, but it’s especially prevalent among young professionals. Something that I would often remind myself throughout my internship is: “You deserve to be here.” Instead of being scared that you aren’t good enough, be confident in yourself and your work because that confidence will rub off on others and it will inspire you to keep pushing yourself to be the best employee you can be.

5. Be proud of your accomplishments

No matter how small, it’s important to celebrate your wins. In the fast-paced business world, it’s easy to get caught up in all the meetings in your schedule, or the assignments you need to complete. Taking time to be proud of everything you have accomplished allows you to put all the work you’re doing into perspective, especially when it is challenging, and it can remind you why you’re doing it the first place. You’ve worked hard to get where you are, it’s okay to be proud of what you’ve done.

6. You’re never alone

The best part of working at a large company is that there will always be people who have your back. Throughout my internship, my manager, my team, and the other interns were all extremely supportive of me. Whenever I needed help on a project, or I was looking for professional advice, there was always someone at Skillsoft I could turn to for support. Finding your people and building a support system at your company makes a huge difference and it helps to know that you always have a team to rely on.

7. Change is the only constant

Change is inevitable. The most important thing that I’ve learned over this past year is that the best way to learn from change is to embrace it. As modern technology continues to advance and organizations around the world are upgrading business models to account for the evolving social and professional landscape, employees must always be ready for change to come their way. A lot of change occurred during my first year at Skillsoft. From modified project assignments to working with multiple managers, I got to be a part of a business evolution and see how companies adapt and grow when faced with change. While it can be scary at first, especially when there are moments of uncertainty, change also provides a great learning experience for everyone involved.

I can’t believe that my internship at Skillsoft is officially over. I am extremely proud of all the work that I have accomplished over the past twelve months, and I’m excited about everything else I will achieve in the future. While my time as an intern is coming to an end, I’m happy to say that in two months, I will officially be starting a full-time position on Skillsoft’s marketing team.

I am excited to continue to be able to learn and grow at a company that has truly taken the time to invest in me, not only as an employee, but as a person as well. As I start my transition from intern to full-time employee, I wanted to say thank you to everyone on my team who has supported me throughout this process. The people on the marketing team are not just my coworkers, they are also my friends, and the support they have given me over this past year is a big part of why I am so thrilled to be able to stay on full-time and begin my professional career in an environment that truly supports and values its employees.

So, goodbye for now, intern blog. I’m very proud of everything we’ve been able to achieve here too.

--

--