Finding a Balance Between a Fall Internship and Senior Year of College

The back-to-school season is always an exciting one, especially for college students returning for their senior year. It’s a time of possibility and reconnection, with everyone eager to make each moment as special as possible. As seniors, we realize this will be the last time many of us go through this process, and it’s hard to imagine that in less than a year, we will be graduating, never to return to a university again. For many, it also marks the beginning of fall internships.

I am currently a senior at Fairfield University and a Product Marketing intern at Skillsoft. Deciding to return to Skillsoft as a fall intern was an easy choice because the past summer had been such a wonderful and fulfilling experience. However, being a part-time intern while being a fully enrolled college student is a lot different than being a full-time intern during summer break. Finding a healthy balance between enjoying my senior year and performing to the best of my ability at my internship has been both fun and challenging.

I would like to share some insights and tips about how I have been maximizing and managing my time.

1. The first thing I like to do is plan out my week. I review my school schedule, check due dates for homework assignments, and note any upcoming tests. Next, I look at my work schedule, noting any scheduled meetings and ongoing projects. I find that knowing what’s on the horizon for the week helps make everything seem more manageable. It’s beneficial that I have a set schedule with my managers at Skillsoft, so I know exactly when I need to be logged on and working. The Microsoft Teams schedule is also very useful in blocking out the times I will be available to my team members. Writing down when I plan to complete my homework in a planner provides a great visual aid. A planner is a college student’s best friend. If my week changes, that’s okay, I simply update my schedule.

2. The second tip that I have found imperative to achieving a good school and work-life balance is finding a good spot to get work done. Living with multiple roommates can be distracting, so it benefits me to take a few hours out of my day to go sit in my school’s library, the business school, or a local coffee shop. Finding a quiet place where I can focus aids my productivity, I try to utilize my school’s resourcesas much as I can. Having suitable places to complete both homework and office work is a nice benefit to still being in college.

3. My final tip is to enjoy the little things. I never pass up an opportunity to go to the beach with my friends or take a walk around campus. I find myself taking little moments to stop and remember that things will never be like this again. I try to savor every moment as much as I can. I am very grateful for the opportunities I have been given, and I understand the importance of learning as much as possible during the limited time I have left. My internship teaches me valuable skills in a real, fast-paced work environment that I am not able to replicate inside a classroom. This work experience is crucial to my career, and allows me to familiarize myself with the industry I intend to join.

We must recognize that life does not stop after we graduate, so planning for a successful future is crucial.

--

--