--

Getting Back to Work: Story to Skillsoft

Hello! I am Richa Chowdhary, and I am a Corporate Marketing Intern here at Skillsoft. I hail from India’s capital city, Delhi, famous for its scrumptious food, multi-culture people, shopping arcades and old age monuments. Currently, I am pursuing a Master of Business Administration at one of the prestigious institutes of India, the Indian Institute of Management Nagpur, the city which is the geographical center of India. I am interested in Marketing and Analytics and want to expand my knowledge in both domains.

I graduated as an Engineer in 2016. Before joining post-graduation, I worked as an Oracle Developer with Asia’s largest tech firm Tata Consultancy Services Ltd. I often walked out of my cubicle space to indulge in CSR activities supporting various social issues such as plastic pollution, women empowerment, animal adoption, mental health issues, etc., and participate in art competitions where we took weekly breaks to sing, dance and perform skits. We usually feel the transition from a student to a professional is challenging, but I experienced that going back to student life from working is equally challenging. Moreover, during this COVID pandemic, adjusting to this new normal of attending virtual classes is a unique experience. I was so excited about going back to school physically, but now I think being safe and with your family is more important.

In my personal life, I am an ardent reader and writer. I like to read books. Although I read all genres but my favorites ones are thriller, mystery and motivational. My favorite authors are Sidney Sheldon, Agatha Christie, Dan Brown and Paulo Coelho. I have a mini library at home with around 200 books, and I dream of expanding it someday. I read as my books take me to another world, and the enriching experience I have while reading makes me forget the nuisances of the world.

My icon is Mr. Ratan Tata, one of the greatest industrialists, and I want to meet him someday as he has inspired me a lot in my life. He is not just a successful business leader but is a visionary. His zeal towards life and giving it back to society has really touched my life.

I enjoy meeting new people and hearing new perspectives. I believe that we get what we work for, and happiness is within. I believe that fear is the single biggest obstacle that holds people back from fulfilling their potential and becoming the best version of themselves. We make a choice to be a victim of our fears or to push them aside and be courageous.

My journey with Skillsoft started 3 weeks back. I was excited and equally thrilled while joining the organization. It won’t be an exaggeration to say I have enjoyed every meeting here, be it official meets or casual catch-ups. People have welcomed me with open arms. The atmosphere is so positive and affirmative, which definitely makes me feel at home. With the help of great mentors and colleagues at Skillsoft, I know this journey will be enriching and fulfilling.

I am so excited and grateful for this opportunity at Skillsoft. I know it is merely the beginning. I am working on demand generation, campaign designing and database analysis. The learning is so insightful which is helping me expand my horizons. In the coming weeks, I will have numerous opportunities to learn, apply and make a difference. I am looking forward to taking advantage of this milieu and enrich my career with a better framework to achieve mutual goals.

It is never late to chase your dreams, and this thought has brought me so far in life. I am grateful for everything that has helped me reach here and follow my dreams. As someone wise has said — the future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams. So, keep dreaming and keep learning!

--

--