“In with the New” — Skillsoft Interns to Full-Time Hires.

Tenille Grant, Lily Charter, Brianna Olinik

Lily Charter
Achieving Our Greatness: The Intern Story
5 min readJul 25, 2023

--

Tenille, Lily, and Brianna started their chapter at Skillsoft last summer, completing a year-long internship, and ultimately received full-time offers during their last semester of college. The three now look back on their experiences as interns and highlight three keys to success in gaining a full-time opportunity.

Tenille Grant

Former Intern Title: Content Marketing Intern

Current Title: Content Marketing Associate

ALWAYS SEEK NEW OPPORTUNITIES

Taking initiative is a very important quality in the workplace and can expose you to career opportunities. Being ready and willing to assume responsibility and take on additional tasks shows your employer that you are interested in opportunities for growth. Taking on more tasks also gives you the opportunity to learn new skills, gain experience, and advance in your desired profession. As an intern, taking on new responsibilities can be nerve-wracking but will give you the chance to collaborate with individuals throughout the company and across departments.

Even after all tasks assigned to you are completed, always reach out to your manager to inquire about additional opportunities to help move projects forward and alleviate long to-do lists. Being the first to volunteer and speak up for new projects can show your manager that you are a hard worker and can indicate that you are ready to advance in a role, possibly being presented with the opportunity to transition from an intern to a full-time employee.

Showing my manager and colleagues that I was ready for new tasks and additional responsibility as an intern lead to me being presented with the opportunity to assist in leading a project and being involved in execution of a content marketing plan and content development for a landing page. The project was by far my most favorite project that I worked on throughout my yearlong internship and ultimately gave me experience that would help me to advance into my new role as a Content Marketing Associate.

Lily Charter

Former Intern Title: Product Marketing Intern

Current Title: Product Marketing Associate

MAKE CONNECTIONS, BUILD RELATIONSHIPS

Another crucial step you can take if you’re looking to turn an internship into a full-time position is to make as many connections as you can throughout the company. While putting yourself out there can appear like a daunting task, committing to doing so has the potential to take you far beyond your position as an intern. Throughout the course of my internship, I took the time to build meaningful relationships with not only the members of my direct team but with anyone I could within the company. Furthermore, I reached out to numerous colleagues of mine, which led me to have many individual conversations, in which I was able to network and build connections with them, as well as receive critical advice.

Throughout my time as an intern, I learned the importance of being open to feedback and ultimately using it as an opportunity to grow. Throughout my meetings with my manager, as well as my networking calls with other individuals across the company, I always portrayed how much I appreciated their insights, and truly took the feedback into practice, as I navigated my way through growing as a business professional. Additionally, I ensured that I was approachable, and I conveyed my positive attitude and strong interpersonal skills through my communication, in order to demonstrate my fit within the culture of the company. Furthermore, this commitment to putting myself out there and building strong relationships is something that I believe set me apart from others, and ultimately contributed to reaching the potential of receiving a full-time offer.

Brianna Olinik

Former Intern Title: Communications Intern

Current Title: Communications Associate

HAVE CONVERSATIONS, EARLY AND OFTEN

Finally, having conversations early and often during your internship is crucial in securing a full-time role. By initiating conversations with your supervisors and mentors, you can gain clarity on the expectations and goals of the internship, as well as understand how your performance will be evaluated. Regular check-ins allow you to receive feedback and make necessary adjustments to ensure you are meeting or exceeding expectations. During my internship, I had a daily 1:1 with my direct manager, weekly check-ins with the manager of my team, as well as bi-weekly check-ins with my mentor. During these conversations, we would discuss my previous goals and if I had met them, and then set new goals for myself.

Additionally, discussing career aspirations and expressing interest in a full-time role demonstrates commitment and enthusiasm. These conversations also provide an opportunity to learn about potential job openings within the company and express your interest in being considered for such positions. By actively engaging in conversations throughout your internship, you can increase your chances of securing a full-time role and demonstrate your dedication to the organization.

At the end of the day, having open and honest communication with your team is what will set you up for success. Remember that while you are looking to impress the organization during your internship, you also should be assessing if the company is a good fit for you. As long as you demonstrate eagerness in your work, make an effort to build connections, and have conversations often you will be on the road to success.

Making the transition from an internship into a full-time role can be daunting, but also very rewarding. Our three keys to success were important factors in helping us succeed in our roles as interns, land full-time job offers, and develop positive reputations that carried us into the beginning of our careers. Based on our experiences, we believe that following along with these tips can truly go a long way and we wish you the best of luck on your journey!

--

--