--

Introduction to Achieving our Greatness: The Intern Story

Hello, and welcome to our blog, Achieving our Greatness: The Intern Story. This blog is written by a group of interns working remotely for Skillsoft, a provider of online learning, training, and talent solutions to help organizations unleash their edge. As you can imagine, beginning an internship during a global pandemic presents some challenges and has provided us with a unique set of experiences. We realize how fortunate we are to continue with our planned internships and wanted to create this blog to bring together young learners trying to advance their skills and make an impact on the current work climate.

We hope you’ll join us in our journey as we discuss career development, building new skills, and funny experiences we have along the way… Meet the team!

My name is Beth! I am originally from New Jersey, and I’m studying Communications at Emerson College in Boston. I am finishing up my last semester at Emerson this fall. I have been a Communications intern at Skillsoft since the beginning of April. I am interested in writing, design, and podcast production. I’ve been lucky to be able to work on cool projects at Skillsoft involving my interests. It’s been a wonderful experience. I’m beyond thrilled to share what I have learned so far with you all!

Hi! I am Amanda Papavasiliou; I grew up in Boston, Massachusetts, and am a rising senior at Stonehill College. At Stonehill, I am studying Communications with a double minor in Entrepreneurship and Business with a focus in Marketing. I began my internship at Skillsoft in May as a digital marketing intern, and I have loved every minute of it! It has been a fantastic experience thus far and taught me so much about the marketing field already. I have been able to jump in right away and contribute to the business’ Technology and Development sector. Specifically, I have worked on developing the live virtual event calendar hosted on the Skillsoft site. I have also contributed to the implementation of an AI chatbot that deploys as users engage with the website. It is so rewarding to see the brand come alive every day through the multiple campaigns we run as a team. I am so excited to share my experiences and thoughts through this blog!

Hello, my name is Gianna! I am a New Hampshire native studying PR/Marketing Communications and English Literature in Boston at Simmons University. I am entering my senior year in the fall and couldn’t be more excited. I have been at Skillsoft since mid-March as a communications intern and have worked on more projects than I can count. I am especially interested in writing and social media but am involved with all different types of projects, big and small, within the marketing team. I am excited to share the lessons I have learned and the new skills I have gained with you. You can see some of my past experiences and work here. If you are interested in learning about some of my projects specifically at Skillsoft, click here.

Hi! My name is Alessandra Abelli. I am from Boston, Massachusetts but ventured to the West Coast to attend the University of Southern California where I am a rising junior studying psychology and marketing. I joined Skillsoft at the beginning of June as a Brand Marketing Intern. I have spent a large portion of my internship working on projects for C Space, a customer consulting agency that focuses on business development and growth. Thus far, I have assisted them in activating Skillsoft’s new brand via projects incorporating qualitative research and product testing. I recently just began working on a project involving Skillsoft’s KPIs and am excited to continue to develop my analytical skills and familiarize myself with Salesforce. I have learned so much already about consumer behavior, various aspects of marketing, branding, media relations, and communications in this engaging internship. I look forward to continuing to learn and contribute!

If you are like us, you have recently started one of your first jobs or internships from your home due to COVID-19. As a result of this shift, young professionals are missing out on the crucial face-to-face interaction in offices that play a huge role in the internship experience.

So, what do we do?

We adapt. We navigate the remote workforce, find ways to professionally develop ourselves, and look for ways to leave an impact in the current work climate.

We hope this blog is helpful to anyone who has a remote internship, who lost their internship as a result of COVID-19 or are just starting their first job remotely. We will be posting at least two blogs every week. Our goal is that you learn something new from our tips, stories, and experiences that we share here.

We are all learning together during this unique time. Are you interested in learning with us? Continue reading and let us know if there is any topic you are looking to learn more about!

Interested in reading more? View our other blog entries on the Skillsoft website.

--

--