My Intern Story

--

Hello! My name is Roisin Coogan-Pluck and I am a Channel Marketing Intern on the Skillsoft team.

I am originally from Greystones, Co. Wicklow which is a small fishing town about forty-five minutes outside of Dublin, Ireland but I now live outside of Boston, Massachusetts. I am entering my final year at Fairfield University where I double major in marketing and management, but my focus is Marketing. I ended up at Fairfield because I was looking for a university that was somewhere in between Boston and New York with a strong alumni group mainly based in the northeast. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to major in at first, but was drawn towards marketing because I really loved the combination of practical business strategy but also with room for creativity.

The past year has not been normal for any of us. One of the largest differences I have noticed as a college student is how much we have pivoted when it comes to entering the job market and networking. Although the pandemic has been a tough time for many, I do think that in a way networking virtually has allowed students to have a greater number of experiences in meeting with companies they may not have had access to before due to many constraints such as not having physical access to job fairs or not having as much free time. I was introduced to Skillsoft via a virtual job shadow program for Fairfield University students and Alumni, which ultimately led to this internship. Shadowing Skillsoft virtually allowed me to learn about what it means to be a member of the Skillsoft team and speak with multiple team members without even physically traveling to the location.

Although I have only been here for three weeks, I already feel that I am learning just as much virtually as I would if we were in person. My mentors and team have taught me many things and looped me in on their projects, such as the brand book, creative briefs for events, sending invites, and compiling a spreadsheet of information about our partners. Each of these aspects of marketing have giving me an amazing opportunity to have a hands-on experience with the marketing world and discover more of my own interests.

In just three weeks I have had the chance to learn from not only hands-on on experience, but also to sit in on meetings and learn from others. Even being virtual, all of the interns have had the chance to meet each other over Teams for coffee chats, and hopefully one day in the future we will be able to meet in person. I am looking forward to the rest of my time here at Skillsoft.

--

--