Onboarding as a new intern at Skillsoft

Hello! My name is Andrea Sofía Méndez, and I am a new Communications Intern at Skillsoft. I was born and raised in the beautiful island of Puerto Rico but moved to the big city of Boston to attend my dream school, Emerson College. I was also given the amazing opportunity to be recruited to play the sport I love, volleyball, while in college. I chose to study Communications because I love to tell stories through different outlets. Communications is broad field that is not only present in many industries but constantly changing, which provides room for learning and growth. Whichever route I decide my career to go, I know I will always be sharing stories and constantly learning.

I joined Skillsoft because I wanted to learn everything I could from professionals in the Communications field. I had previous experience working part-time managing social media accounts, but I felt as though I needed to acquire new skills on other platforms, have more engaging tasks and be exposed to experiences outside of my comfort zone. Skillsoft checked every box for me and frankly, even exceeded the box count. Once I got the internship, I was ecstatic and couldn’t wait to begin working.

On my first day, I had internet connection issues and struggled to fix it. That day, I started way later than expected, but the team was incredibly understanding about it and told me, “That is just one of the many perks of working remotely from home!” After that, I felt reassured about my decision of joining Skillsoft.

During the onboarding process, I felt welcomed with open arms by every employee I met, and quickly felt part of the team. It’s a little absurd to think that it’s only been three weeks since I started my internship, and I’ve already learned so much about different platforms such as Asana and Bambu, how small, step-by-step tasks can make a huge impact and how rewarding it can be to see the finalized product. Thanks to the guidance of the Communications team, onboarding was nothing more than a smooth journey with many hands-on learning opportunities that were made easy by being broken up into simple, small tasks that eventually became the finished piece.

I’m extremely grateful to be contributing to such a wonderful company and learning new skills from professionals in the field I hope to have a career in someday. Very excited to share my thoughts and experiences here as an intern at Skillsoft!

--

--