Podcasts! Podcasts! Podcasts!

Latee Wilburn
Achieving Our Greatness: The Intern Story
5 min readFeb 16, 2022
All of these images belong to the corresponding podcasts

Just like everyone nowadays, I am a sucker for a good podcast. I love the storytelling, the knowledge I gain, and they are so easy to integrate into my life. My love of podcasts began when I started going to a nearby community college fresh out of high school. My college was roughly an hour’s drive away, so I started listening to a couple of podcasts on my way to work after my classes. They quickly became a staple in my workouts and cleaning routines, which added a bit of excitement and intrigue to my every day, mundane tasks.

Another great aspect of podcasts that I love is the learning and knowledge that they can bring to listeners. I have learned much about culture, business, and technology through my podcast listening.

Fast forward to some odd years later, and I still love podcasts. Due to their popularity now, I am sure you do too. For that reason, I figured why not share some of my favorites.

Getting Curious with Jonathan Van Ness

Getting Curious with JVN is a weekly podcast that follows the intriguing adventures of Jonathan Van Ness, a media personality from the show “Queer Eye.” While JVN is a hairdresser in real life and on the show, you can see from one episode that he is a deep thinker asking the common questions that nobody knows the answer to, or the questions that we are all too shy to ask.

On his show, he invites people like:

  • Dr. Jessica Hernandez: Indigenous Environmental Scientist & Author
  • Gabrielle Union: Actress & Author
  • Amanda Seales: Actress & Comedian
  • Professor Chris Jackson: Geologist and Professor of Sustainable Geoscience
  • And many other scholars, professors, and notable people.

Murder Murder News

This would not be a personal podcast list without a true crime one. The two hosts are, Aurora and Angelina, with whom I had the pleasure of working as an intern about a year ago, are very kind. In my opinion, these compassionate people also love true crime but shape their show around the lens sensitivity that is lacking in the true crime community. I honestly never looked at it with a critical eye until I worked with them. Their careful nature around this dark subject, while still enjoyable, is what hooked me. It’s true crime with a touch of activism and spooky vibes, which is everything I love and did not know that I needed in a podcast.

Now, if you try to make plans with me on Friday nights, I will have declined because I will most likely be making a delicious meal while listening to the Murder Murder News in a true introvert fashion.

Savvy Psychologist

I love self-help tips and knowledge, but I am usually wary of who I get this information from. I want practical tips and ways to improve my sleep, relationships, and communication. So, I “randomly” got introduced to Savvy Psychologist (thanks Spotify algorithm) hosted by Dr. Monica Johnson, providing lifestyle tips and tricks backed by her career expertise and the science of psychology.

Some of my favorites are:

  • How to Break Creativity Blocks
  • How to Get into a Flow
  • 8 Tips to Grow Your Grit
  • Why Am I So Tired?

Daily Quote

I truly listen to this podcast daily since the episode lasts 3 minutes at the most. Just as the title suggests, this podcast helps jumpstart my morning with an inspirational quote and a deeper look into what it means. They take quotes from various notable activists, writers, religious figures, actors, artists, and much more.

I love this podcast because it is short and sweet yet very uplifting. Each quote and message sends me off to conquer my day and do the best that I can.

Some of the notable people that they included are:

  • Kate Winslet, Actress
  • Ijeoma Oluo, Writer & Speaker
  • Tracee Ellis Ross, Actress
  • SZA, Singer-Songwriter
  • Jennifer Collidge, Actress

Inner Archeology with Saran Turner & Emily Pennystone

This podcast has been a recent addition to my roster, but the stories and experiences that they share really speak to me and where I would like to be in life. The overall theme of this podcast is garnering more emotional intelligence and reaching your full potential as a creative.

Their first episode hooked me by addressing the right time to start a new creative project or venture. The short answer: there isn’t any. That realization has empowered me to take a bit of my progress and growth into my own hands instead of waiting for a miraculous sign to drop out of the sky and signal for me to get to work.

The Edge with Michelle BB

Last but not least, another recent addition to my podcast list is The Edge, Skillsoft’s podcast hosted by the CMO, Michelle BB. This podcast shares in-depth insight from business and leadership professionals from varying industries. The topics are always relevant and eye-opening while remaining informative.

I have learned so much from this podcast, but the most profound message that I got from listening was to place myself and who I am first when it comes to learning. While working and growing in your job is essential, it is even more important to do so for your own personal development. It is also more fulfilling to approach your interests and what you want to learn more of in your own time.

My favorite episodes are:

  • The Women in Exodus Series
  • Putting Action Into DEI
  • Developing Tomorrow’s Leaders
  • The Human Revolution
  • Embracing our Humanity

What are some of your podcast favs?

Podcasts are a great way to implement easy learning. You can learn while driving, cleaning, or any other tasks that are not so fun but require a lot of your time. Due to their popularity nowadays, there are all kinds of podcasts from a range of topics. There certainly is a podcast out there for every hobby, interest or skill.

When looking for a new podcast to enjoy, I try to find something that not only allows me to learn something new, but also inspires me to do more, be better, and connect with my own ideas and goals for the future.

--

--