The Struggles of Finding an Internship

Khushi Shah
Achieving Our Greatness: The Intern Story
3 min readJul 8, 2022

It took eight months for me to find an internship for the summer. I submitted over 50 applications, and in those applications were a lot of rejections as well as false hopes. Everyone goes through this process at the start of their career, and eventually something good comes out of it. Back in September, I started researching more about what I wanted to do within Marketing. I went on a lot of recruiting websites like LinkedIn, Handshake, and Indeed to find out what exactly each job description contained. From there, I contacted employees that worked at the companies I was interested in or had heard back from and networked with them. I asked them questions like, “What are some challenges you faced in your time here?”, “How did you hear about this job position?” and “Do you enjoy the company culture?” These questions gave me more of an inside scoop on what the company is like. Normally, I try to connect with people that are recent alumni so I can talk about something other than jobs or careers to lighten up the conversation. In my case, there have been many instances in which people from LinkedIn, for example, have not responded back. This happens all the time, so messaging at least 5–7 employees/alumni within that company may increase the chance of someone answering you.

Along with networking, attending career fairs and reaching out to professors that have field experience can also work in your favor. Career fairs give students a positive start to their career search as well as valuable interpersonal and interview skills for the future. Employers find students they need to fill entry-level positions and which gives them the opportunity to gain exposure to corporate or startup culture. A career fair allows students to make mistakes and recover. If career fairs don’t seem to be helping in your career search, reach out to your professors. They are more than lecturers, they are professionals. Fostering a strong professor/student relationship is important for the future because there are countless benefits that come with it. For example, I had a professor that worked in a company I was interested in last year and went to get advice from him. He helped me out more than a career fair did!

Aside from applying to jobs, working on your resume is an important factor in the process of getting an internship. Every potential intern must perfect their resume in order to hear back from recruiters. A resume highlights your skills and experience to demonstrate what makes you qualified for the job you are applying to, and helps to sell yourself as a good fit for the company. Making a good impression is important in today’s job market because a resume and cover letter is your first contact with employers. In my case, I went to the career center at my school to give me feedback on what my resume was lacking. Getting notes from an advisor really helped strengthen my resume, and that is how I heard back from Skillsoft.

In addition to hearing back from employers, doing a mock interview with someone is highly encouraged. After an employer has called for an interview, make sure to be prepared and know the company background. For instance, what the company does, who its competitors are, and recent news about its accomplishments are great places to start. Talking about these topics will increase your chances of being recognized by the recruiter. Hearing back for a second or third round-interview can be a little nerve-racking because no one knows how they did, and it could take a couple of days or even weeks to hear back. Many employees today have been in a similar situation and candidates forget that. I have had numerous rejections, but I never lost hope and kept on applying. In April, I got an offer from Skillsoft for a Marketing Internship and could not have been prouder of myself. It is okay to receive rejections, but eventually an offer will be presented when least expected.

--

--