Things I’m Thankful for This Holiday Season

Mia Kabillio
Achieving Our Greatness: The Intern Story
3 min readNov 23, 2023

Happy Thanksgiving! The holiday season is my favorite time of the year, and Thanksgiving is my absolute favorite holiday. There’s nothing better than arriving at dinner wearing extra loose pants, ready to fill your plate with stuffing, mac and cheese, cranberry sauce, sweet potatoes, brussels sprouts, turkey, and three different types of pies, then going back for seconds and thirds (or even fourths).

Sadly, I’m not able to go home for Thanksgiving this year, but I’ll still be celebrating it, even if I am miles away from my family. So, as November comes to an end and people start cozying up for the start of winter, I wanted to take some time to reflect on all the things that I am thankful for this year.

First off, I’m extremely grateful for my family. I’ve experienced a lot of changes this year — from graduating college and starting a new job, to moving thousands of miles away from home and renting my first apartment — and my family has supported me every step of the way. I’ll miss being able to celebrate with them in person this year, but even from miles away, I can feel their love and support, and we’ll be sharing the holiday joy no matter where we are in the world.

I’m also extremely grateful for my friends, both old and new, who help me maintain a balanced life inside and outside of work. It can be hard to find friends when you move somewhere new, or even if you’re not in a new place, it can be hard to find time to hang out with those closest to you. This year, I’ve had to learn how to keep in touch with friends from back home while also fostering new relationships. Despite the occasional stress of maintaining these friendships, especially as someone who isn’t the best at texting, they’ve been crucial to my work-life balance and creating a sense of community while I’m far away from home.

Skillsoft’s marketing team also deserves a huge thanks. Throughout all the changes I’ve experienced this year, my team at Skillsoft has been the most constant part of my life over the past few months. I’m extremely grateful for all the relationships I’ve made with team members, and for all the things they have helped me learn about the industry and what I am looking for in my professional career. My team has provided me with so many special opportunities to learn and grow and I am very thankful to be able to commit to work I care about and take part in projects that I absolutely love.

I have many other things to be thankful for this year, but if I were to include them all in this piece it would take forever to read, so I’ll keep it short. But I find that writing these things down, even if it is just a few, helps me see just how far I’ve come over the past 11 months, and it helps me look forward to all the amazing things that will follow in the year to come. So, this holiday season as you’re prepping your food, buying your gifts, or traveling someplace near or far, make sure to also take some time to reflect on all the things you’re grateful for, and don’t be afraid to share them with those around you.

And, from me and the rest of the Skillsoft Intern Team, we wish you all a very happy Thanksgiving!

--

--