Walking the Walk

The effects of cultural differences between Americans and Europeans on corporate cohesion came to life while I studied abroad.

In late May, I returned home from the most captivating experience I have had yet. I studied abroad for four months in Milan, Italy during my spring semester of my third year of college. My time was filled going to school in a fashion capital, travelling to new cities and countries on weekends, and meeting amazing people along the way. By the end, it felt like a triumph, as the picturesque glamour of travel and European living did not come without huge adjustments that turned into life lessons.

Growing up in the states, my idea of a “big city” environment is all about moving fast, making deadlines, and catching up. The life you live is all about what’s next, creating a fast-paced life. During my time living in Milan, I was in awe of how the Milanese could exist in such a metropolitan environment but still manage an unhurried way of life. Moving to a large city prepared for a certain speed of life but finding one that was much slower than that of my quaint college town in the states was surprising to say the least. Observing this new way of life brought me a continuous train of thought that challenged how I see the American lifestyle and the entanglement of culture being a strong force in all aspects of life and business practice.

To be completely transparent, I would get frustrated with this difference in city lifestyle. I would get frustrated when a leisurely stroll would happen right in front of my brisk walk to class. I would be frustrated when a fast car would barrel down the city street while I tried my hand at a relaxed stroll across the cross walk. As it may seem, if you are reading this as a North American, I am painting the picture of two completely different lives. But no. These two paces existed amongst the Milanese skyscrapers with no disarray. I could barely believe it myself. With pace and environment being one of the most wild and distracting frustrations I observed while abroad, I decided to take these emotions as an opportunity to reflect.

Being in Milan, known as a fashion and business capital of Italy and Europe, I was surrounded by a large volume of luxurious advertisements. I loved getting to watch how this high dollar agenda was being pushed and consumed by people who were shutting their laptops at 5 PM and heading to Aperitivo (the Italian and quite fancier version of our happy hour) every day. In my eyes, I am used to hard work and hustle being associated with luxury. The Milan natives really impressed me with their ability to have their lavish cakes and eat them too.

During one of our first conversations, my internship manager here at Skillsoft mentioned one of her challenges to me. She confided about the struggles of making sure our brand values were understood and lived by our entire organization, no matter where in the world employees worked. Although I may have been on the receiving end of a rhetorical concern, I immediately responded with anecdotes from my time studying abroad. It was a perfect example of the broader translation of the gaps in pace that I would see every day while walking to class.

Because the “western” way of life appears homogeneous, it seems like an easy transition for American and European companies to overlap or interact. However, there are strong cultural nuances that are embedded into decision making that can cause bottlenecks in overseas interactions. While Americans value ongoing innovation and modernity at a fast pace, the European culture is attached to its slow-moving heritage and traditions. Even getting to see cultural landmarks that have been preserved for thousands of years and are still honored by these countries is what makes travel in Europe as an American so exciting. America propels forward with no remorse for what is left in the past, whereas other cultures struggle to find the true need for letting go. That is why you find the American city dweller praised for working overtime, while finding their silver lining in the fact that they got to miss rush hour. While European employees put in expertise and effort into creating successful brands, they still find time for themselves with ease. Although this may seem like a generalization of all American and European workers, it exhibits the effects a country’s deep rooted culture on what people value, especially in terms of work and life.

Fast versus slow, new versus old — no one person can define a correct approach. All we can do is accept our differences and leverage the power of understanding to overcome obstacles. I know I will personally take a note out of the Italians’ book while back in the US as a reminder to prioritize time spent with loved ones doing something that we enjoy. Although I will always tend towards my roots, living in a new country offered tons of opportunities to learn about myself and the struggles that come with a career in multinational branding.

The beauty in it all is that I would have never expected to learn so much by simply taking my daily walk to class.

Posing outside of the Milan Duomo — the second largest cathedral in the world and Milan’s biggest landmark!

--

--