10 Often Overlooked Benefits of Learning Many Skills

Compiled from learning close to 90 skills in 3 years

Danny Forest
SkillUp Ed

--

Illustration of Leonardo Da Vinci, likely the most famous polymath in history. Source: Wikimedia Commons

When I set out to learn 3 new skills every month in 2017, I only had one expectation: I will become more skilled. Years later, I realized there are a lot more benefits from learning many skills. In this article, I’m showing you 10 that are often overlooked.

1. You’ll discover some of your hidden talents

49% of your traits are given to you at birth. The thing is, no one tells you what they are, so you have to discover them for yourself. That’s the case for your talents.

A talent is something you learn faster than others. Until you try many things, you don’t know what your talents are. Many people reach the end of their lives without having discovered what their talents are. The more things you try, the higher the chance you’ll find out what they are for you.

As a trained software engineer, I never expected to find talent in writing and in photography. It only happened through trying them out for 15 hours each and realizing that I was learning them faster than others and enjoying the process greatly.

2. You’ll use them unexpectedly

--

--

Danny Forest
SkillUp Ed

Polymath. Life Optimizer. Learner. Entrepreneur. Engineer. Writer.