Effective Ways To Improve Your Linguistic Skills

How to make sure you are always improving

Daniel A
SkillUp Ed

--

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

When I first started learning Korean, I paid a lot of attention to what techniques could help me effectively study my target language. Then, I thought to myself: “how can I optimize my learning experience ? Is there a right way to learn?”.

At first, I thought I just needed to make sure I was steadily improving: after a while, I would start being fluent, right? But as I reflected on how I was able to learn French and Spanish, I realised there were ways to make sure I not only was enjoying learning but I was also consolidating skills I could competently use in the future.

Here are 3 ways to improve your linguistic skills.

Active recall

When we first start learning a new language, we mostly think we have to study through textbooks and practice exams. We want to make sure we aren’t missing anything so we feel more inclined towards the structure and guidance they provide us with and that’s normal!

But even though they help us grasp the main concepts and anatomy of our target language, they often involve passive learning. In fact, when learning new vocabulary, our reflex often is to write it down and review it afterwards. Similarly, when we learn about a new tense…

--

--

Daniel A
SkillUp Ed

I write to help you be more productive, sharpen your linguistic skills and develop your literary abilities. I enjoy discussing the world around us and more.