Your Comprehensive Step-by-Step Guide On How To Learn Any Skill

Danny Forest
SkillUp Ed

--

Your biggest competitor is your brain.

Step 1. Just do it
Step 2. Shatter your limiting beliefs
Step 3. Learn to learn
Step 4. Choose the right skills to learn
Step 5. Plan your learning process
Step 6. Be smart in your practice
Step 7. Measure your progress
Step 8. Collect honest and constructive feedback

I remember the day everything began. I was in my steamy room in Siem Reap, Cambodia, walking back and forth like a mad man. My mind was racing faster than a F1 car.

I had just come across a TEDx talk by Josh Kaufman, demonstrating that with only 20 hours of practice, you can learn a wide variety of skills. I was inspired.

That same day, I vowed to learn three new skills for the month of October.

Bold move, especially considering I wasn’t a particularly skilled learner. Every time I tried to learn something outside the scope of software development, I failed — and never got back up, staying right there flat out on the ground.

The vow to do the “impossible” happened back in 2017. Since I was living in a coworking/coliving place, work was the predominant activity in my life. I always worked at least 12 hours per day, even during weekends. Then I came across that idea, which turned out…

--

--

Danny Forest
SkillUp Ed

Polymath. Life Optimizer. Learner. Entrepreneur. Engineer. Writer.