Sean’s Big Secret

Daniel Okey-Okoro
S K I P L I F E
Published in
4 min readFeb 11, 2017

*see what I did there?

Courtesy of Sean Don’s Insta

Big Sean’s latest studio album, “I Decided.”, is without a doubt the best body of work he has put together.

Through out the project, he demonstrates serious growth:

  • Introducing more elements of introspection into his verses (without betraying his signature flow characterized by clever punchlines and tricky wordplay),

I’m the one at the end like you counting backwards .

— Bigger Than Me (Ft. The Flint Chozen Choir & Starrah)

  • Seamlessly connecting every song to a central theme and vibe,
  • And, littering tracks with vocals, samples and ad-libs from the likes of Jeremih and Starrah — like a seasoned chef applying #thatsauce to his masterpiece.

But, what makes “I Decided.” special is the magnificently creative and twisted story it tells.

1. Intro

The story begins at the end.

On the first track, we get introduced to the album’s mystery guest and our story’s main supporting character; Big Sean’s future self.

Briefly, we meet Future Sean during the last moments leading up to his death. He’s complaining to God about the life he’s lead as he walks the busy streets, airing regrets about: his career, parenting and relationships, when he’s suddenly hit by a car.

This track is integral to the story; as the whole concept of the album is that, after the accident, Future Sean’s “ghost?” travels back in time with the intent of correcting some wrongs.

courtesy of genius.com

*That’s Future Sean on the right.

*And Present Sean on the left.

*Does Sean get even shorter?

2. Light

The track’s name and theme corresponds with “ghost” theory. As it implies that Future Sean “saw the light” after the car hit him.

4. No Favors

I thought I had the Midas touch, then I went platinum too.
— No Favors (Ft. Eminem)

*I think that’s all I need to write here…

5. Jump Out The Window

At the end of “No Favors” there’s a short outro where Future Sean tells Big Sean “I know you feeling yourself right now. But I’m not sure she’s the one. I wouldn’t call her, man”.

Sean ignores the voice’s advice and continues to hit “her” up though.

This is something we’ll continue to observe through out the album. It seems as though Sean cannot see or hear Future Sean.

*Those Bryson-Tiller-like adlibs at (0:34) are Jeremih btw…in case you were wondering. And if you listen closely, you’ll hear Starrah helping out on the 2nd and 3rd hooks.

14. Bigger Than Me

The last song on the album.

God talking to me - telepathic

On this track, Future Sean finally get’s through to Present Sean.

Sean’s Mom: In a way I feel like I’m living through you. Sometimes it feels like I got another chance at everything.
Sean: Man that’s deep to feel like that. I kinda feel the same way though sometimes
Sean’s Mom: Yeah.
Sean: With all the work that’s goin’ on I feel like this is like my second time doin’ it so I know that sound crazy but, you know I just I don’t know why I always imagine myself as like someone who failed at everything he ever did at life you know and I got to the end of life and just regretted it all and somehow, this is my chance to go back and get it all right. And when I wake up, with that mindset, you know, it completely changes my hunger, how I approach the whole day. I mean you decide to live your life like that then pshh man I guarantee we’ll live life to our best potential

I named this article/review “Sean’s Big Secret” because it’s a clever title.

That said, a small part of me wants to believe the story this album tells. Imagine it was all true - the best way for Sean to hide the unbelievable truth about his success would be to make an entire album about it.

*That’s what I would do

I , for one, am not fooled for one second!

I know your secret, Sean.

Big Mistake.

Rating:

--

--