The Run The Jewels Phenomenon

Daniel Okey-Okoro
S K I P L I F E
Published in
3 min readAug 22, 2017

They just might make the soundtrack to your next favorite movie….

get RTJ3

I’m the kind of person that hears a song playing in a restaurant and asks the waiter to get me the name of the artist and the song title.

So, naturally, when I’m watching a film I tend to get deeply invested in its soundtrack. In fact, I follow a number of shows primarily for their soundtrack — not to take anything away from an otherwise decent plot. Some examples are: Insecure and Silicon Valley.

The music supervisors on these shows have great taste. Although, the kind of songs played on these shows differ:

Insecure is more inclined towards female Hip Hop and R n’ B artists. With songs by Kari Faux, SZA, Kamaiyah, and recently, Cardi B making frequent appearances.

While, Silicon Valley is heavily invested in Hip Hop. Like seriously, this show isn’t playing around. You could learn a thing or two about Hip Hop by peeking this show’s soundtrack. Some could even go as far as to say that the show’s music supervisors; Rudy Chung and Jason Alexander, have created a sub-genre; Nerd Swagger. A brand of hip hop characterized by bombastic, cut-throat lyrics; cartoonish, larger-than-life instrumentals; and underrated rappers. With artists like Run the Jewels, Flo Rida and Pusha T constantly spitting in your ear; as if to scold you for your ignorance.

That brings me to the title of this article, “The Run The Jewels Phenomenon”, at the end of Silicon Valley Season 3 Episode 1, a song is played. A song so memorable it prompted me to look up Silicon Valley’s soundtrack, just so I could locate this single track.

The song is titled ‘Nobody Speak’ and it features DJ Shadow and rap super-duo; Run The Jewels.

Apart from the song’s award winning video, I’ve noticed something peculiar about this track.

Since it’s release, in 2016, it’s been featured in at least 4 films (including trailers), the latest being Ozark Season 1 Episode 3 (the song is played during the end credits).

With most movies like Guardians of the Galaxy, and Baby Driver practically immortalizing 90’s music, I find it highly impressive that Run The Jewels and DJ Shadow have been able to achieve this feat. I think it says something about their music, and how we currently rate artists and songs.

Movies need to age well, so directors pay special attention to their soundtracks, most times only songs capable of standing the test of time, and immortalizing a scene, make the cut.

Some directors have even gone so far as to say that certain scenes in their movies were inspired by songs; often asking themselves what the songs demanded of their actors.

I for one think that this phenomenon validates Run the Jewels’s ability to make timeless music.

P.S. Am I the only one that thinks Kendrick Lamar’s BLOOD belongs in a Quentin Tarantino movie?

--

--