Why Daniel Caesar is Next Up

Daniel Okey-Okoro
S K I P L I F E
Published in
2 min readMay 22, 2017
the boy

I am very opposed to comparing artists.

But, I will make an exception this one time. Because, the truth is, the tools in my possession do not allow me to do justice to this young man.

Daniel Caesar, 22 year-old R&B singer/songwriter from Toronto, Canada, is making music I didn’t think I’d hear again in my lifetime. Music so rich with artistic flare; metaphors and similes comparable to brush-strokes, verses comparable to odes, and songs potent enough to transport you to another reality — his reality.

The first and last time I encountered an artist that could do this was in 2011; that artist was Frank Ocean. But, as I’m sure you’ve noticed, Frank doesn’t make music like that anymore.

Now, don’t misunderstand me, the new Frank is great. The new Frank is using his music to oppose (possibly correct…) social norms that he considers outdated and constrictive. And, in order for him to achieve this he’s taken his music in a different direction; tilting it away from aesthetical story-telling to contemporary conversation. And I’m happy with that, that’s growth!

But, that said, he’s left a gap to be filled.

If you’ve listened to; blond(e), Endless and/or any of his recent singles, you should have realized by now that we won’t be getting another channel ORANGE from Frank.

The good news is: we might be getting it from Daniel Caesar. His break out single Get You (featuring Kali Uchisanother artist I’ve had my eyes on ). Has had me mesmerized for months, taking me places I didn’t think I could visit anymore. But the song that jolted me into writing this article is called Paradise.

Music is a lot more than just music; it’s culture, art, stories, fashion, typography, literature…

Daniel strikes me as someone that understands this.

--

--