A Heartfelt Adieu to A Beloved Store~ Heartfelt SF

Akshaya D
SKUE RIGHT
Published in
2 min readSep 12, 2019

--

Darcy Lee is the owner of the brick and mortar store, @heartfeltsf — a shining star in the neighborhood of Bernal Heights, San Francisco. Heartfelt recently closed after 20 years in the business, considering most companies are in business for 13 years that’s quite an achievement. In this quick chat with Darcy, we checkin on what made her tick from the time of the store’s inception. Heartfelt is an old fashioned variety store with a modern twist.

Interviewed by Kelsey Baker Kelsey Baker

SKUE : Thanks so much for joining us @heartfeltsf! First question: You have such a great collection of products. How do you decide what to bring into Heartfelt?

Darcy: I love going to the NYNOW show and browsing endless aisles of practical and yet stylish items to wear and use in your home.. and because we have been here so long …folks that make cool stuff approach us…we are extremely lucky

SKUE: That’s so great! Speaking of folks who make cool stuff…what do you wish makers would make more of?

DARCY: My choices have gotten better each year supplier wise. I find my focus is or what I wish for are companies that offer their workers fair wage and good working conditions. Thus my wish is better not necessarily more.

SKUE: We agree! What new habit would you say has had a positive impact on your business in the past five years?

DARCY: I have a minor addiction to social media because it keeps me in touch in real time with my fan base. I love the humanity part and it keeps me on my toes!

Every week we do live interviews on Instagram @skue.co with our makers & buyers before featuring them here. Interested in joining our wholesale collective? Apply at skue.co/merchants

--

--